It’s Turning Me into Something That I Swore I Never Would Become Essay 6

Republisher’s Note: May I second all the negative things about Danny and Drew in this essay, but as it plays out it isn’t really as bad as it could have been. However, as a long time Michelle fan, I’d like to point out what was glossed over by many Manny fans that this is Michelle’s worst fear – that what happened to her mother would happen to her – and here it is right down to the fact that it was a friend of hers he slept with. Watch the episodes where Danny sleeps with Drew. Find out the affair revelation that spurred on Maureen’s death.

Also, there is a reference to Dinah Marler and Matt Reardon. For reasons I will never understand there was a strong contingent of fans who absolutely loved Mattessa (Matt Reardon and Vanessa Chamberlain). Honestly I don’t get it, she treated him like a toy boy and he was FAR more likeable in every other single pairing they tried. Both characters had to be weakened for the pairing to work and I HATE when they do that. A romantic pairing should make both characters better like Manny does. But as Kristi references in the essay below when they did try Matt in other pairings (and I LIKED Dinah and Matt despite my general don’t like stories where you sleep with related people guideline), the Mattessa fans would howl bloody murder and TPTB caved every time.

From the Rustle of the Sheets

“It’s Turning Me into Something That I Swore
I Never Would Become”
(The Danny-Drew One-Night Stand) Essay #6

By kristi

I don’t think anyone here is overjoyed at the latest bombshell (I was having such a violent reaction when I heard it, it scared me, that I could become so emotionally involved in a soap story . . . I’ve been watching soaps for about a decade and never felt quite like this), but some people managed to rationalize it for me (and I hope a few others) in the chatroom and while it’s still hard to feel cheerful about this, at least I’m now resolving myself to grit my teeth and go through with it. I have two weeks left to come to terms with it emotionally, maybe the shock and [name every negative emotion you can think of] will wear off by then. (Yeah right. I feel like I’ve been stabbed in the back three times, by Drew, Danny and TPTB. Double blows for Michelle too. I knew I was living their story vicariously, just never realized how much.)

I was reminded of what Danny said the night he and Michelle almost made love, and in a way Danny reverting to his old ways (Ray did say he used to be a ladies’ man, and how about the re-appearance of the leather jacket?), drowning his sorrows in drinks and, um, you-know-what (very unusual for a man who values self-control and sacred vows), it’s all an indication of how much he’s hurting, how he’s spinning out of control. All because Michelle betrayed him. That’s how much he love(s? d?) her.

So here is my wish list/”positive” spin about this:

1. Let’s make this a “human” story, not a black-and-white one where Michelle is the “virgin Madonna” (in a manner of speaking) and Drew the slut. Everyone involved has something to feel guilty about, let’s not turn this into a story where one is more right than the other. Healing will take some time but I hope all the relationships (Michelle and Drew’s budding friendship included) will be salvaged in the end and the characters will all grow up with the experience.

Tammy Blanchard has indicated in Soap Opera Weekly that Drew would develop a friendship with Danny (she makes it clear Jesse is still the one Drew’s in love with), and that could prove very positive for Manny, meaning that she could help them (of her own will) get together. I don’t necessarily think of this as a triangle, not even the beginning of one (it’s just a one-night stand, hopefully nothing more will come out of it), but if you wanna see it that way, there are good triangles on soaps where no one is the bad guy, and this could be one of them. I hate what’s going to happen, but I’ll be even more pissed if Michelle and Drew go back to sniping at each other afterward. (Think Rick and Phillip, their friendship also had its ups and downs.) There’s nothing I hate more than seeing women hissing over men, no matter how worthy they are.

2. Why am I not even talking about Michelle and Danny in all this? That’s because they’re the only thing I’m 100% sure about, it’s not even worth mentioning in a way. It looks like TPTB are setting this up as a catalyst to speed up Michelle’s realization, and while I’m bummed they’re going this way, if anything could speed it up, this probably was the fastest and surest way to do so. This is all assuming Michelle gets wind of this very soon.

3. The one thing that makes me really smile: how Jesse’s fading. (and how!) He’s becoming almost weightless. Let’s speed up his exit from the show now, shall we?

4. Before this became known to be a fact, I talked about how the current PTB never went all the way in triangles. (You can stone me for getting your hopes up, it’s not going to hurt me any more than I already am.) Well, they’re going to with this one (even if technically, it’s not a triangle). In other words, they’re taking a risk, a huge one at that, knowing full well there might be viewer backlash. (As I understand they backed off from Matt and Dinah and some other pairings for that reason.) They know they’re raising the stakes here (just like they did when they chose to put Manny on the front burner back in January), and I don’t think they’d do that (especially this regime) if they weren’t sure about Manny. They’ve made all the right moves with this couple (which is why this one really stunned me at first, it didn’t strike me as a right move and I admit still having difficulties seeing it as one) and unless there’s a change in the creative force behind them I’m not aware of, I’ll trust their judgment and instincts this time as well. Let’s just hope they won’t prove me wrong.

5. I hope Danny feels really, and I mean really guilty, about this. I hope Drew lets it slip or tells him herself that … {I} she was also at the beach when Mick was killed or … {II} Michelle is developing feelings for him or … {III} Michelle did try to call off the F.B.I. I hope Michelle, when she learns about this, will feel more hurt than angry, I don’t want her to become judgmental.

6. And after all we went through, we don’t get some form of pay-off by May sweeps? That’s when I will flip out for good.

Kristi

 

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “It’s Turning Me into Something That I Swore I Never Would Become Essay 6”

  1. Ramie Says:

    I agree with so much of what you say. I was shocked and horrified that they went with Danny and Drew sleeping together. Until this moment they handled Manny so well. They really seemed to be taking time to develop the couple and done so well. Danny and Drew sleeping together felt so cheap and really out of the blue. It felt like the TPTB really made a stupid move with that and who hasn’t had their favorite soap couples destroyed by stupid move? Danny and Michelle already had so many issues and things to work on that it really seemed unnecessary to add Danny and Drew sleeping together.

Leave a Reply

