Philip Talks to Danny Before Comes to Spaulding September 6 2001

Check out my latest episode guide post.

Thurs., Sept. 6, 2001 – Philip reminds Alan that he thinks it wasn’t the best idea to give Danny Santos a job in security. Alan tells Phillip that if you want to protect something you should hire someone who can think like a thief. Alan tells Phillip he thinks Danny is going straight and he wants to give him a chance. Phillip is surprised but says he will get better acquainted with Danny. At the Bauer House: Ray comes in and sees Danny studying the security logs from the past ten years at Spaulding. Ray tells him that Carmen asks to see a priest and he is going to have to go see her. Danny tells him to be careful and never turn his back to her. Ray leaves and Danny goes back to work. Phillip comes in and sees Danny. Danny asks if he is there to see Rick and Phillip admits that he came to see him.

Phillip: “I love this place so much. It’s the one place in my life that never changes. I can always count on this place and the Bauers.”

Danny: “Ya, they’re great people.”

Phillip: “They are, they really are. Michelle’s like a little sister to me. I don’t see very much of my own.”

Danny: “No, me either. I sent Pilar to Europe when, you know when things started heating up around here. I’m hoping to get to see her soon.”

Phillip: “Is she still with Bill Lewis?”

Danny: “Ya, ya, ya, [with a chuckle] they’re running around and having a good time.”

Phillip: “That’s funny. Bill’s a good kid.”

Danny: “Ya.”

Phillip: “I feel so old every time I look at him now. And Michelle, the two of them. You know what? I can remember I sat in this room and watched the two of them to make a pinkie pact that they would marry each other someday. For a long time we thought it was going to happen.”

Danny: “What a shock I must have been for all of you.”

Phillip: “Hey, Danny she seems to love you very much. and you seem very happy together. That’s all that matters.”

Danny: “Is that why you’re here? To give me a kind of left handed blessing?”

Phillip: “Uhhhh, not about that, but I guess ya sort of. OK look. My father and I have a somewhat unconventional relationship, but in our own odd way we try to look out for each other.”

Danny: “So this is you looking out for your father?”

Phillip: “He very much wants to give you a chance to make this work outside the family business.”

Danny: “But you’re not sure.”

Phillip: “I don’t know, but I’m willing to try. That’s why I’m here. That actually is why I’m here. I am here to welcome you to Spaulding Enterprises.”

Danny: “A personal welcome.”

Phillip: “A very personal welcome because I intend to take a very personal interest in your career. I’d hate to see anything go wrong for any of us.”

He starts out with some small talk about growing up with Rick and Michelle and how he can really tells Danny loves her. Phillip says he and his father have an odd relationship so he came there to welcome Danny to Spaulding because he doesn’t want anything to go wrong for any of them.

My Comments:
This is a short scene to break out on its own, but I wanted it on its own because of the importance of the Phillip-Danny relationship. From Phillip helping Rick set up the kidnapping Michelle to the psych ward, to them locking horns over the plan to get rid of Ben Warren, to their conversation at the 2009 Bauer BBQ and the addition of Manny to the Four Musketeers their relationship raised up at critical plot points. Their relationships as scions of  important families in town. Even when they are in competition Danny is more Phillip’s equal than anyone else in town. I don’t think they played this story as often as they should, but when they did play it, it was utterly perfect as this scene is.

Robansuefarm is the handle of one of Manny and Guiding Light‘s biggest fans following in her family’s footsteps of Guiding Light fandom since 1939. This blog is an effort to make it easy to find Guiding Light and especially Manny online. Check back here for her blog, find fanfic previews and fake WSPR newscasts on her YouTube, find podcasts that look back to old shows and audios of her fanfics on Blog Talk Radio, and finally follow her on Twitter and Facebook.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

