Bauer BBQ 2017 Hiatus

I’m sorry, but I’ve run out of completed story. I still have the story mapped out and it will be coming, but you have to wait for me to write it. Hopefully the rest of it will be here by the end of the month. I hope you’ve enjoyed the story this far and as an apology for not finishing, here is this year’s annual Bauer BBQ speech. It’s courtesy of Rick.

Can I have your attention? It’s time again for that time honored tradition. The Bauer BBQ speech where we take a minute to think about what we’re celebrating today instead of the celebration itself….You know it still feels funny for me to be the one giving the speech because I feel like it should be a grown up like my dad or Uncle Mike or Aunt Meta giving this speech. I still feel like I should be a kid trying to filch Grandma Bert’s apple pie off the dessert table — which is probably because I still do that.

Audience chuckles

But then I look around and I see my kids, my nieces and nephew, all my friends and family, wonderful little sister, Michelle, her husband, Danny, and my beautiful wife, Mindy and I realize I am a grown up who has built a pretty great life here in Springfield. Not just my family, but I have been instrumental in making Springfield better and keeping it a great place to live. Everyone here can say the same thing.

I’ve made my share of terrible mistakes, things I wish I could take back, and I’m sure that you all can say that. I turned my back on Springfield for awhile thinking it would make my problems go away, tried to live in other places for awhile, as some of you have done, but Springfield always calls us back home. We find our answers here among all of us, as part of the community because truly “no one goes his way alone.”

The community in Springfield IS extra special, but that sense of community is all across America from, New York to LA, and oh I don’t know, from Oakdale, Illinois to Genoa City, Wisconsin to Port Charles, New York. It’s that sense of individuals pulling together to form communities of respect, dignity, hard work and perseverance and then pulling together more to form one country is what makes this country great. It’s what made it possible for a man like my great-grandfather, whose name I proudly bear, to come to this land, and with the help of his wife to create a family and to help to build this town into what it is today.

So here’s to friends here and gone, to our children, and to Springfield may it continue to be the special place it is.

Audience “To Springfield!”

Robansuefarm is the handle of one of Manny and Guiding Light‘s biggest fans following in her family’s footsteps of Guiding Light fandom since 1939. This blog is an effort to make it easy to find Guiding Light and especially Manny online. Check back here for her blog, find fanfic previews and fake WSPR newscasts on her YouTube, find podcasts that look back to old shows and audios of her fanfics on Blog Talk Radio, and finally follow her on Twitter and Facebook.

Leave a Reply

