Bauer BBQ 2017 Prequel

Author’s Note: I told you I got an early start on my Bauer BBQ fanfic this year and it’s just gorgeous if I do say so myself. I started out with a prequel which I’m republishing below. This includes several bits of information that will be valuable in understanding the Bauer BBQ fanfic. Can you pick them out?

I also want to refer you to my last Bauer BBQ fanfic from back in 2014 and my updated list of children in Springfield so you can understand who some of these kids are — since we’ve all missed a shocking number of episodes this year. [Bitter, BITTER sob!]

My general rule is that I try to keep within the end game rules set up by the finale (even if Rusty-Mindy and Abby-Rick are SO much better couples) and not to counterdict anything we last heard about them. I have not included the happily alive Marony that you can find at I Believe in the Mystery, but that doesn’t mean they aren’t around. See the translation notes at the end of the story.

A Certain Night in March 2017 by Robansuefarm

Michelle Bauer Santos quietly slipped into her and Danny’s bedroom. She reached to her right and using the dimmer switch turned on the light in the walk-in closet/dressing room to her left letting a soft, low light spill out its door and into the bedroom. It was enough to easily move, but not as stark if it turned on the overhead. They had carefully designed the room lighting that way. While their schedules were more in sync than they had been when Danny was working in his clubs, there will still times when one or the other needed to be up at odd times and they didn’t want to disrupt the other’s sleep.

Moving quietly not to wake her sleeping husband, she toed off her high heels and flexed her feet and rolled her shoulders with a soft sigh. She padded over to the closet taking off her suit jacket and hanging it up.

A deep breath came from darkened bedroom as her husband woke and sat up. As he raised up the sheet fell away revealing his bare chest. He rubbed his face in his hands and drew up his legs to rest his crossed arms and chin on them.

Michelle stepped back into the bedroom. She reached down and picked up the high heels to put them away. “I’m sorry I woke you up. I was trying to be quiet….since you didn’t see the need to wait up.”

“Hey missy, a father of three has to grab sleep when he can. Besides I’d rather save my being awake for when you are home. Did you lock the garage door and the house door again as you came in? I double checked everything before I came up.”

“Of course I did. Danny, how many years have we done this?”

“Not as many as I want and keeping you and the kids safe is how I’ll get a lot more years. I always have this fear that the time I don’t ask will be the time you forget too and someone gets in.”

“I understand.”

“How did the suicide prevention board meeting go?”

Michelle rolled her eyes. “Alright I guess. If Becca would ever learn to let go of….It was the right decision to fold the hotline we had with Harley’s Angels into the main suicide hotline, but it was nice when it was just Bill and me making decisions. Board meetings can be frustrating.”

Danny grinned. “I know how hard it can be taking a position when you’re used to being in charge…harder than it looks isn’t it?”

Michelle stuck her tongue out at him before ducking back into the changing room to put the shoes away. “I miss working on the phones too. It felt like I was doing more.”

“Michelle, keeping the lights on is even more important. You know you really don’t have the time or emotion to spare right now, but I’m sure you’ll get back to it once we’re empty nesters.”

Michelle stepped back in to the bedroom unbuttoning her skirt and shimming out of it, before picking it up to hang it up too. “I suppose. I hope I’m doing enough to honor Ben.”

Danny got out of bed and clad only in his boxers moved around the bed and wrapped his arms around her from behind. His body protectively spooned around her as he wrapped his arms around her waist. Dropping his lips to her ear. “Ben needed more help than you could have given him, Michelle. You are making sure to make time to stop other people from getting that far gone and pushing them to the help they need. I’m sure Ben is looking down at you and is just as proud of you as I am.” Danny’s hands moved up her torso to unbutton her blouse.

For a minute Michelle burrowed into his arms. “Thank you,” she said and then stepped out of the blouse letting it in his arms. She reached back in picking up the nightgown she’d put on top of the bureau inside the door and crossed the bedroom to their bathroom. “Put that in the dry cleaning bag, will you, please?”

Danny chuckled and went to stick the blouse in the bag. He moved over so he could see Michelle in the bathroom as he leaned against the wall with his arms crossed. He watched Michelle as she went through her nightly ritual getting ready for bed. She cleaned off her makeup, moisturized her face, brushed out her hair, brushed her teeth, etc. As she worked she glanced at Danny.

“So how was your evening con sus ninos?” *

“It was great like it always is with the world’s best dad. I took them out to Little Havana.”

“You got your Arroz y Pollo?” *

“You bet. Robbie got some too. He wants to be just like his old man.”

Michelle paused in her routine to smile at her husband. “He couldn’t do any better. I worry sometimes though. He is our son and I think we were both getting into more trouble than he does at 16.”

“Robbie is more serious and stable than we were. I know we did our best to protect him, but there was a lot of both stability and instability when he was growing up before we moved to California. I think he values stability more than we did. Besides he’s got Jude for a cousin and best friend. He values stability too, they aren’t going to be knocking things over.”

“So you don’t think he’s going to show our spirit and fire?”

“Oh, I’m sure he will, just as soon as he finds the right girl.”

“You don’t think that’s Sarah or Clarissa?”

“Too soon to tell. It could be either or maybe there’s a fireball female out there just waiting to come charging into his life.” Danny grinned at his wife. “I think it’s just a matter of time.”

Michelle rolled her eyes at him. “And how was Hope?”

“She had her usual – a pressed ham sandwich, black beans, and rice.”

“And…”

“The science club she started with Sarah and Emma met today. They are still working on their energy from algae project over in the Spaulding greenhouse.”

“Any positive results?”

“Not yet, but Sarah had a suggestion and Hope has sketched out a new plan to test it. She’s really excited about it.”

“I hope it works out. And what about Danielle?”

“I got a couple of bites down her of Arroz y Pollo before she absolutely refused to eat anymore and I had to break down and get her a grilled cheese sandwich…. Apparently she and Little Billy wrecked havoc on their play date. Apparently they decided to make their own tree-house and instead of getting a ladder they piled up a bunch of chairs and boxes and put an ironing board on top of that. She was halfway up it before Bill caught them.”

Michelle stopped dead. “She’s OK? Neither of them fell?”

“Nope, Bill got them down and we’ve BOTH had a word with them. We’ll help them build a tree-house clubhouse, but NO more improvised ladders.” Danny walked over and shut off the light in the dressing room and then headed back to the bed.

“I should hope not.”

Michelle emerged from the bathroom nightly regiment done wearing one of her favorite silky nightgowns. “Then you over ate on flan?”

“What else is flan for?”

“Giving you a reason to burn off calories.” Standing on tiptoe, Michelle wrapped her arms around her husband to pull him into a steamy kiss.

“Hello, my beautiful wife.”

“Hello, my perfect husband.”

They both laughed as they fell together on the bed.

*con sus ninos = with our children

*rice and chicken

Robansuefarm is the handle of one of Manny and Guiding Light‘s biggest fans following in her family’s footsteps of Guiding Light fandom since 1939. This blog is an effort to make it easy to find Guiding Light and especially Manny online. Check back here for her blog, find fanfic previews and fake WSPR newscasts on her YouTube, find podcasts that look back to old shows and audios of her fanfics on Blog Talk Radio, and finally follow her on Twitter and Facebook.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

