Romance Novels vs Soap Operas

Are romance novels and soap operas the same thing?

Glmanny's Blog

Romance Novels

People who don’t have anything to do with either frequently equate romance novels and soap operas, but I really don’t think it’s a fair equation. I grew up on soap operas and kind of looked down on romance novels, but as my real job involves recommending books to people, I figure it’s part of my job to occasionally read books outside of my comfort zone to be able to discuss them with some familiarity, so over the years I’ve read some romance novels. I’ve read a few more in the last few years, looking for inspiration for fanfic. I was always surprised by how quickly romances (even historical romances – does it really matter if a story set in 1800 was written in 2012 or 1979?) date out. Romance readers take a shockingly abrupt attitude towards their books. I’ve actually seen a romance reader finish a book and…

View original post 423 more words

Leave a Reply

