Danny and Food From Little Havana September 4 2001

Check out my latest episode guide post.

I know I’ve been saying this a lot lately, but this is one of my favorite Danny, non-Michelle and Robbie bits. If anyone knows Cuban food please help me out on the menu. I can pick up the arroz y pollo and the flan for dessert, but they mention at least two other dishes that not knowing Cuban food well enough I can’t quite catch.

Maria Danny Ray Tony eat Little Havana

Maria Danny Ray Tony eat Little Havana

FYI Little Havana.

Tues., Sept. 4, 2001 – At the Springfield PD: Gus tries to tell Carmen that he isn’t with the feds anymore but she tells him that she knows he is undercover. He asks her what she wants and she tells him she wants to stay out of prison. She offers him enough info on the Sandovals and Machados to put them all away but Gus tells her that he wants all three families. Carmen tells him with what she has; he will have his career made. Gus insists that he has to have at least Danny along with the others but Carmen won’t budge. She tells him that she can give him Maria, but Tony isn’t into anything and Danny is her son. She tells him that Washington won’t be happy that Gus refuses to take down the other two families just because of his vendetta against the Santos clan. Gus makes a call and acts like he is talking to Washington but in reality he called a pizza place. He ends the call and tells Carmen that Washington won’t deal without Danny as part of the package. At the Bauer House: Danny comes in with takeout of all his favorites from Little Havana. Danny is planning on a feast for one of all his Cuban foods because Meta is out, Rick is at work, and Michelle took Robbie to a “Mommy and Me” class. Rick comes in and Danny is surprised. Rick was supposed to be working a shift at Cedars, but he wasn’t up to it after Beth’s funeral so he came home early. Rick tries to sneak a taste of Danny’s meal, but Danny is protective and tells Rick he isn’t sharing. Rick leaves with a parting shot about how Danny doesn’t owe him anything he just lives in Rick’s house….rent free…..

Danny: “Great, now I HAVE to save him some.”

Danny sits down with his feast. Just as he starts Abuela comes by and asks if she can come in. Danny refuses and asks her to leave. She tells him that Michelle let her in the night before and they helped each other look for him. He won’t talk to her about it and she chastasizes him for worrying Michelle.

Danny: “Oh, NOW you’re worried about Michelle’s feelings? You should have thought about that before you tried to take that hit out on me.”

Maria (waving it away as nothing): “That order was given by Carlos.”

Danny: “Well, you went along with it.”

Maria: “I tried to rectify that mistake when I testified for you.” (Maria had helped throw her testimony to make it look like Danny was telling the truth and the state was lying even though she was testifying as part of a deal for the state.)

Maria takes a bite and Danny tells her not to eat his food. She tells him she is just picking, like they always used to. Tony arrived next and sits down at the table and he too starts picking. Danny can’t believe that they are eating his food. Danny tells them to go place their own order. Ray shows up and smells the food and Danny asks if he intends on picking as well.

Ray: “No, I’m STARVING hand me a plato.”

He gets a plate and helps himself. Maria is pleased at the impromptu family meal but Danny is irritated watching as his food disappears.

Maria: “I was wondering when was the last time we were together like this.”

Danny: “Um, let me see when you tried to kill me.”

Maria (once again waving it away as unimportant): “No, Raymond was not here that time.”

Danny isn’t physically pushing them out, but really can’t believe they are acting like everything is normal like it used to be. Ray, Tony, and Danny verbally spar and Abuela says it’s like having her three sons back. Danny sardonically points out that since they didn’t get out of the business like he’s trying to do they’re all dead. Ray tries to steer the conversation to safer territory by asking Danny about the job search. He tells them about his job at Spaulding and tells them that he is completely legit. Maria doesn’t look thrilled. Danny asks if she isn’t proud of him. Maria tells him she has always been proud of him, even when he wasn’t proud of himself. Rick comes back in and sees everyone eating. He asks Danny if he decided to share after all.

My Comments:

I know I’ve been saying this quite a bit lately, but this is one of my favorite Manny bits. I know just what Danny means sometimes to get to go to your favorite place and get all your favorites without having to share or talk with anyone is just the best. The restaurant he got take out from is called Little Havana and this isn’t the first time they’ve talked about it, but we never see it as a set. I just adore Danny’s interaction with his family here. It just is so family like. I have to say we’re know in one of all time favorite periods of Manny so I’ll keep saying how much I like stuff especially before “Mr. Big” gets here. While I enjoy the normalcy here, I also am glad Danny isn’t 100% having it. I think “Maria” threw up a line there “and that other uncle of yours.” I thought at first she said their names, but on a relisten she says something like your fathers and uncle, but I still think maybe it’s a thrown up line. It isn’t very clear and saying their names would make a lot more sense. I’m sorry that they cut off the end when Rick comes back. I don’t blame Rick for being ticked, but really Danny would have had to physically push them out. I’m sure Rick’s reaction was the tag, but I wish when he came in Danny would have gotten up and said let’s you and me go out to dinner, Ray will lock up or something like that. To show his allegiance with Rick. 

Robansuefarm is the handle of one of Manny and Guiding Light‘s biggest fans following in her family’s footsteps of Guiding Light fandom since 1939. This blog is an effort to make it easy to find Guiding Light and especially Manny online. Check back here for her blog, find fanfic previews and fake WSPR newscasts on her YouTube, find podcasts that look back to old shows and audios of her fanfics on Blog Talk Radio, and finally follow her on Twitter and Facebook.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

