Children of Springfield 2017

Back in 2014 before I could really dig into my Manny Bauer BBQ fanfic for the year I had to stop and figure out what children would be running around and how old they would be now. Sadly it’s been awhile now since we’ve seen any of them. I thought this might be helpful for anyone wanting to write a “present day” Springfield story. I’m especially looking for any Bauer BBQ fanfic of any couple, any era and I’m making myself a challenge to at least get the start of one done by July 1st, so I’m challenging you as well. And don’t worry, this year I have the Manny part of the plot figured out so I just have to decide what other people are doing around them.

I came back and did an update last year in 2016. I think it needs to be an annual post to keep us all on the same Guiding Light page. Here we go for 2017.

Manny Move Back

In the previous post I shared some of my reasoning and notes to show my work and let it stand for possible addition and corrections. I recently read a very persuasive article that said what truly made an article academic was to show your work and admit you could be wrong. So I’m admitting I was wrong. I have good reason to switch up the Marler children and switch them back to airdate birth age so I did.

Below you’ll find a list in reverse chronological order with the changes marked with an *. Please note these are often rough calculations and any of them could be subject to SORAS at any given time. Personally I like to watch kids grow up on screen, so I won’t be SORASing.

Sadly I’ve had to leave the mess age wise that is James Spaulding and Daisy/Susan LeMay/Cooper because there is just no way to leave it and no way fix it and keep any kind of continuity, so we are just swallowing it and going on. So James, Daisy, and Ashlee are all safely graduated from college now and in the young adult storyline, where no one has no idea how old anybody is. But just for the heck of it going by Zach Conroy’s age, James Spaulding should be 32 and so should Ashlee Wolfe according to Caitlain VanZandt’s age. If take James’s age when we meet him fresh out of boarding school to be 18, he should be 26 instead. At the rate she was going Daisy/Susan is probably now 4.

There could be any number of other children around, for example maybe Alan-Michael and Lucy have kids, as could any number of other people that we had lost track of on screen or since 2009. These are children that are reasonable to assume are around. I’ll gladly take suggestions of others. The only children I’ve listed are those we know on screen, plus Danielle who I created in my Springfield Bound story which Michelle told Danny about shortly after Rick and Mindy’s wedding as shown in the flashforward and so would have been born in 2011 and so is now 6.

Moved de-SORASed on my list are the Marler children. Basically our post-show triangle between Robbie Santos, Sarah Randall, and Clarissa Marler required them to be closer in age so I reverted from an approximation based on SORAS when last seen back to airdate birthdays. I had previously added Rocky Cooper in just because it still ticks me off that they basically sent him off into the attic to look for skis so I like to mention him when I reasonably can. I had used the SORASed Coop’s (his older brother’s) last on screen actors age and subtracted the difference on screen, but I decided to ignore that since Coop is dead anyway and return to airdate birthday because makes Rocky more available.

So here is my list. I’m probably missing people. Let me know who else you think should be included. Whether these children would actually be around town or not is, of course, up to you and how you plot your story.

In reverse chronological order, the current children of Springfield:

Danielle “Dani” Meta Santos, 6

H.B. Lewis IV, 7

Francesca Cooper, 7

Henry Cooper Lewis, 8

Colin O’Neill, 9

Peyton Spaulding, 9

Emma Spencer Spaulding, 11

Sarah Randall, 11

Hope Maureen Santos, 12

Leah Bauer, 15

“Robbie” Robert Frederico Santos, 16

Jude Bauer, 16

Clarissa Marler, 17*

Zach Spaulding, 18

Rocky Bradshaw Cooper, 19*

Maureen Reardon, 20

Kevin Marler, 21*

Jason Marler, 21*

Robansuefarm is the handle of one of Manny and Guiding Light‘s biggest fans following in her family’s footsteps of Guiding Light fandom since 1939. This blog is an effort to make it easy to find Guiding Light and especially Manny online. Check back here for her blog, find fanfic previews and fake WSPR newscasts on her YouTube, find podcasts that look back to old shows and audios of her fanfics on Blog Talk Radio, and finally follow her on Twitter and Facebook.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

