Love Led Us Here Part 3 by JenJ

Republisher’s Note: This is a retelling where Danny went with Rick and Tony the night of the attack on the Bauer House and was killed.

Love Led Us Here Part 3 by JenJ

Michelle walked into the kitchen. She was exhausted. Robbie had sensed how upset she was and had kept her awake all night, although she couldn’t have slept even if she had wanted to. He’d finally fallen asleep so she’d taken advantage of that to go downstairs and see what was going on.

Rick, Tony and Ray were all sitting around the table talking quietly. Meta was fixing breakfast. They stopped talking when they saw Michelle walk in. They just sat awkwardly, not quite sure of what to say. Each of them felt responsible for what had happened and they knew that Michelle blamed them too.

“Honey, can I get you some breakfast?” Meta asked. Michelle shook her head. She wasn’t hungry, she wasn’t feeling anything except total numbness. “Are you sure? You should eat something.”

Michelle still didn’t say anything. She just sat down. The three men exchanged glances, each wanting the other to be the first to say something. Meta set plate in front of her but Michelle just pushed it away, “Michelle, you need to eat something.”

“I’m not hungry,” Michelle said dully.

“Well you’re going to eat this anyway,” Meta said firmly, “You’re not going to be any use to your son if you get sick. He needs you.”

Michelle shook her head, “He needs his father, we both do.”

“Michelle, you have to take care of yourself,” Rick said. “Danny would want that.”

“No, Danny wanted to get out of his family. He wanted a life with me and Robbie,” Michelle said, looking accusingly at Tony.

“Michelle, please I tried to warn you. I did,” Tony said.

“Well maybe if you had warned us sooner than he would have had a chance,” Michelle said.

“I never wanted this to happen,” Tony said. “You have to believe me. Danny was hard on me when I first came to town, but I never wanted him dead.”

“Then why did you leave him there to die?” She accused, looking at both Rick and Tony. “Why did you leave him there?”

“Honey, we tried to get to him but we couldn’t. We told you that last night,” Rick tried to explain.

“How hard did you try?” Michelle asked. “How hard did you try to bring him back?”

“Michelle, I swear that we tried…” Rick said.

“They did try, Michelle,” Ray broke in.

“How do you know?” She said turning on him. “You weren’t there. Besides you’re just as responsible as they are. You knew about this, but you didn’t warn Danny either.”

“Tony told me in confession. I had no choice,” Ray said.

“That’s always your excuse,” Michelle said. She stood up and said, “I’m going to check on Robbie.” Then she turned and walked out of the room.

Rick shut his eyes, “That went well.”

Ray sighed, “She’s taking this very hard.”

“What do you expect?” Meta asked, joining them at the table. “Her husband was just killed.”

“And it’s our fault,” Tony said. “I swear I thought that he was right behind me. He was my cousin, I didn’t want him to die, especially like that.”

“No one’s blaming you,” Ray said.

“Except Michelle,” Tony said, “But I think she’s blaming all of us.”

“She’s grieving for her husband,” Meta pointed out. “She needs to blame someone. All we can do right now is be there for her whether she wants us or not.”

“I’ll do anything,” Tony said. “I feel responsible enough about this as it is.”

“You’re going to have to help Michelle take care of Robbie,” Ray said. “You’re his godfather. Now that Danny’s gone you have to take care of his son.”

Tony nodded and they heard a knock at the door. Meta got up to answer it. It was Marah and Catalina.

“We heard about Danny on the news,” Catalina said. “We came to see if there was anything we could do.”

“Are you okay?” Marah asked, throwing herself into Tony’s arms.

“I’m fine,” He said, pulling away from her. “I wasn’t even hit.”

“I was so scared that you had been shot. I couldn’t bear it if anything had happened to you.’

“Well you see I’m fine,” Tony said. “What are you doing here? I told you to stay away from me.”

Marah started to protest but Catalina stopped her, “How’s Michelle?”

Rick shook his head, “She’s still in shock.”

“Can we see her?”

“Sure,” Rick nodded. “Maybe you can help her. We haven’t been able to.” Marah and Catalina went upstairs with Marah looking back at Tony, hoping that he would give her some kind of sign.

“They might be able to help her. At least she doesn’t blame them for what happened to Danny,” Tony said. “Why shouldn’t she blame us? What happened was our fault.”

“You remind me of Danny,” Ray said. “Remember last fall how depressed he got. He blamed himself for something and look what happened to him. He spent months wallowing in guilt. Don’t do the same thing. It doesn’t change what happened and it’s not going to bring Danny back.”

Tony looked at Ray and said, “You’re right about one thing. Danny’s not coming back. Nothing I do is going to change what happened last night.”

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

