Once In A Lifetime by France Chapter 3

Republisher’s Note: Danny and Michelle “accidently” run into each other at the movies.

Author’s Note: I guess after 3 chapters I can’t very well call it a test anymore can I? Thanks for the feedback…

Once In A Lifetime by France Chapter 3

Michelle stood in line at the concession stand in the movie theater, waiting to order a snack and join her friends who had gone ahead to find seats.

“Miss are you going to order?” the guy at the stand, whom she recognized as a senior at Springfield High asked.

“She’ll have nachos and cheese, a small Sprite and gummy worms,” a voice spoke up behind her.

The young man looked from Michelle to Danny and back to Michelle again.

“I’ll have nachos and cheese a small Sprite and gummy bears,” she said emphasizing the word bears.

Danny laughed, handing over the money for her order before she had the chance to pay for it herself.

“What are you doing here and why did you do that?” Michelle yelled as they walked away from the stand.

“I’m here to see a movie and the people behind you in line were getting impatient and I knew what you wanted,” he replied.

“I wish you would stop doing that.”

“Stop doing what? Danny asked innocently.

“Stop acting like you know me better than I know myself.”

“I was just being a gentleman. And people wonder why chivalry is dead.”

“That’s besides the point, Danny. You know what, forget it, I’m going to enjoy the movie with my friends and you can go enjoy the…” Michelle stopped mid sentence as a thought occurred to her “aren’t you supposed to be at the ranch? What are you doing here?”

“It’s a long story. Come on let’s go watch the movie.”

“Danny, I didn’t come here with you, we didn’t come here as a “we” remember?”

“Fine, then I’m going to watch the movie, you can stand out here if you want to,” Danny smirked as he walked away.

Michelle stood in stunned silence, stunned that he was there and stunned that he left her out in the lobby. Angrily she brushed a stray curl out of her face and walked into the theater not surprisingly Danny had occupied the seat next to Lucky, leaving Michelle to sit next to Danny.

“Couldn’t you find an empty seat besides this one?” she whispered as the coming attractions began.

“Look around Michelle, the theater is packed, you’re lucky I saved you a seat.”

“Yeah, that’s me lucky,” she said her voice thick with sarcasm.

“No, that would be him,” Danny snickered

“I see you’re playing the role of comedian tonight or is that smart aleck?¬†Sorry I get them confused.”

“Hey, it’s not my fault the guy has a dorky name,” Danny retorted.

The movie began and Michelle turned her attention to the screen doing her best to ignore Danny. “Um Danny right?” Lucky asked “Do you mind switching seats, I kinda want to seat next to my date.”

“Yeah, I do mind, I like this seat, I have a great view of the screen”

“Danny, please don’t ruin this for me!” Michelle whispered exasperated.

“I’m not trying to Michelle, besides I really should go to the other theater Halle is probably wondering what happened to m.e”
“You came here with her!” Michelle whispered incredulously.

“Yeah, you didn’t think I came here by myself did you?”

“I thought..” she stuttered

Danny smiled at her reaction “Enjoy the movie kiddo,” he said ruffling her hair as he left.

Michelle tried to focus on the movie but her mind kept drifting back to Danny and Halle in a dark theater. She was certain that he came to the movies out of some misplaced jealousy to sabotage her date. “Yeah right Michelle like Danny even likes you that way,” she scolded herself.

“Hey babe, since you don’t seem to be enjoying the movie much would you mind getting me some nachos?” Lucky asked.

“Do not call me babe,” she scolded as she angrily walked out of the theater.

As she made her way to the concession stand, she saw Halle entering a theater right next to their’s, without thinking followed her. This one wasn’t as filled as their’s and Michelle slid into the seat directly behind Danny and Halle, her nacho run forgotten. Unsure of what to do she kept trying to focus on the movie but her eyes kept drifting back to Danny and Halle who looked very much like a couple. Halle leaned over and whispered something in Danny’s ear they both laughed and Michelle felt her heart sink. Unable to stomach the display of puppy love that was going on in front of her Michelle tried making a hasty exit out of the theater, before she could make it out of aisle unseen she bumped into a man knocking over his popcorn, “Hey watch where you are going kid!” he scolded.

“I’m sorry” she apologized running out to the lobby.

Michelle stood in the lobby trying to sort out what happened, she didn’t know why she was so jealous of Halle, or why she was so hurt that Danny was there with Halle instead of her. She wasn’t having any fun with Lucky, Kyle and Niki and in the lobby of the movie theater was the last place she wanted to be.

She felt a hand on her shoulder and she immediately knew who it was. He spun her around to face him, gently wiping a tear that she did not know had fallen till he gently brushed it away with his index finger.

“Why aren’t you in there watching the movie, with her” she asked quietly.

“Cause I’d rather be out here with you” he replied.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

