It’s My Party by Alisia

Republisher’s Note: A great high school fic. I wish it went on a little longer. And although it really never read that way, Michelle and Pilar must be about the same age if you start calculating things out.

Author’s Note: This fic was inspired by the Lesley Gore song of the same name, though I totally changed the implied meaning. For this fic, you have to accept that Pilar and Michelle are the same age and high school friends. You also have to believe that Michelle had a huge crush on Danny in her youth that continued through to high school (but that’s not hard to imagine is it?) Also, I gave Michelle a May birthday just because it made the story easier I actually have no idea when her birthday is. This is fluff, and its not very good fluff, but my editor said it was ok, so here it is.

Disclaimers: Michelle and Danny Santos are not mine. One of life’s little disappointments. Lyrics (also not mine) are in italics.

This is for Mere because she gave me the idea in the first place, and in the hope that shell forgive me for writing a fic for that other couple that she didnt want me to write. (If that confused you, dont worry. It confuses me, too).

Alisia

It’s My Party by Alisia

Nobody knows where my Johnny has gone
Judy left the same time
Why was he holding her hand
When he’s supposed to be mine

Michelle rearranged some snacks on a long table on the patio. Her guests were starting to arrive, but she was not focused on the party forming around her. Her 18th birthday party it took her quite a long time to decide whether or not she even wanted a birthday party at that age was to be the last big party with all her friends from high school before they all parted for college. One last hurrah that’s what Rick called it. He and Abby had been great about the party. They hadn’t complained about the cost or the number of people she was inviting, and they had disappeared to Phillip and Harley’s just as the first guests arrived.

Michelle, however, was having a very hard time enjoying this freedom. She had just broken up with her boyfriend, Jesse, the week before. Despite her best intentions, he was on her mind again, but it wasn’t because she wanted him back. Michelle had decided she wanted to break up with Jesse before the end of summer vacation. He was moving clear across the country to go to art school, and she didn’t want to start college with the added pressure of a long-distance relationship. She thought long and hard about the decision. Jesse was her first love, but she decided they were already on different paths. When Jesse had begun talking about the whole long distance situation the day they had picked up their caps and gowns for graduation, Michelle had tried to explain that she just wanted to make the most of the summer and then take it from there. Jesse had, as usual, completely overreacted. By the end of the day, they had broken up. Michelle found that she was not particularly upset over this decision, further convincing her it was the right one to make.

Now, however, she was regretting the timing. Jesse had come to the party anyway. Michelle didn’t mind that so much it was more awkward than anything but he brought a date. To Michelle’s party. A week after they broke up. And not just any date Jesse brought Drew. Drew, a whiny, loud, self-absorbed girl that Michelle had disliked since the fourth grade when Drew had accused her of stealing a shiny pencil. Not really something to hold a grudge over Michelle realized, but Drew always seemed to think Michelle had somehow gotten what Drew felt that she, herself, deserved, including Jesse. Not a good basis for a friendship. And now Jesse, who apparently took the break up much worse than Michelle had realized, was being mean.

Michelle couldn’t see where Jesse and Drew had disappeared to. She didn’t really want to see either of them, but they were ruining the party for her. Michelle did not want them to cause a scene during such a fun occasion. All her friends would feel sorry for her, and she would spend the remainder of the school year, however short, feeling embarrassed. Michelle bit back tears as she thought of what her party was supposed to be like.

It’s my party and I’ll cry if I want to
Cry if I want to, cry if I want to
You would cry too if it happened to you

Michelle sighed and plopped down in a patio chair. It was probably immature to be upset, but she couldn’t help it. She didn’t want Jesse. If she was honest, she hadn’t wanted him for a long time. If she was brutally honest with herself, which she rarely was, he had just been a replacement for someone who didn’t see her as girl-friend material. Maybe she had been wrong about Jesse and their relationship, but did he have to be so rude and mean? He knew how much this party meant to her.

“Happy birthday, Michelle!”

Michelle looked up and forced a smile. “Hey, Pilar.”

“Well you don’t look particularly cheery for someone celebrating a birthday.”

“I was just thinking.”

“Jesse’s a jerk.”

“That was pretty much what I was thinking,” Michelle laughed. She stood up and took the present Pilar was holding, depositing it on a pile of other gifts.

Seeing Pilar just reinforced that Jesse wasn’t the one Michelle wanted. The one she wanted was Pilar’s brother Danny. He was the only one she had ever wanted, but he was older and rarely had time for his sister and her little friends since he started college. He was always nice to her; Danny is a nice guy. But, whenever she saw him, Michelle couldn’t help but think Danny seemed uncomfortable around her, almost nervous. It was almost as if Danny knew Michelle had a crush on him and was afraid she would do or say something about it. Michelle grimaced, and Pilar saw it. She had told Pilar to mention the party to Danny, casually of course, but she didn’t really think her crush would show up.

“By the way, Danny said he was going to try and come today.”

Michelle’s eyes flew to her friend. “I wasn’t thinking of him.”

“Uh huh.”

“Pilar! I wasn’t.”

“Sure, if you want to lie to your best friend, you just go right ahead. I’ll let you get away with it since it’s your birthday. But, he really did say he was going to try. He had a study session, but he thought he could make it. He really likes you, you know.”

“Do you want something to drink?” Michelle asked in an attempt to change the subject.

“I will pretend not to have noticed how you just side-stepped the issue there, and tell you that a lemonade would be great.”

Michelle swung her arm around Pilar’s shoulder and led her to the coolers, happy her friend was with her but disappointed she was spending her birthday pining for a school-girl crush.

Playin’ my records, keep dancing all night
Leave me alone for a while
Til Johnny’s dancin with me
I’ve got no reason to smile

Michelle greeted her guests at the door, danced with as many friends as she could, and tried to ignore their pitying looks when they asked how she was feeling.

“Michelle?” Pilar asked.

“Yeah?”

“You’re depressing your guests.”

Michelle laughed out loud. “I am not.”

“Well, maybe not, but you are depressing me. What would make you smile?”

“Jesse pushing Drew in the pool and dancing with me in front of her.”

“Really?” Pilar asked. “I could probably push her in the pool, she crooked her head to the side, seemingly thinking it over. You’d really want to dance with him?”

“Nah, not really.” She laughed at herself. “It’s stupid. I only feel dislike for him now. It’s just a bad situation is all.”

“Good. He’s not good enough for you.”

“I’m going to go take a walk for a few minutes and clear my head. I promise to come back in a party mood.”

Pilar watched Michelle wander towards the garden, just as a pair of hands came over her eyes.

“Guess who, Peanut?”

“I think you just gave yourself away, brother dear.”

Danny laughed and sat next to Pilar. “Yeah, well, being sneaky was never my forte anyway.”

“That’s for sure. Stealthy you are not.”

“Thanks.” Pilar laughed as Danny scanned the party for Michelle. “Where’s the birthday girl?”

“She went for a walk; she needed a minute alone.”

Danny considered this. “Why?”

“This guy she was dating….”

“I’ll kill him.”

Pilar laughed. “Danny! You don’t even know what he did!”

“I knew he did something!”

“You’re impossible.”

He smiled sheepishly. “I would do the same for you.”

“Do not attempt to sit there and convince me you think of Michelle as a little sister. You have had a thing for her for ages.”

Danny just shook his head at Pilar. “You read way too much into things.”

“Uh huh. Sure. The two of you are driving me crazy. Go do something about it for heaven’s sake!” She thought for a second and then added, “She usually goes to sit under the oak tree in the garden when she’s upset.”

“I should probably go check on her,” Danny said a little to quickly.

“That’s a good idea.” Pilar watched her brother go, fully aware he was trying to build up his courage as he walked towards Michelle. Pilar decided right then that if Michelle and Danny couldn’t manage to admit their feelings to each other out in the garden, she was going to lock them in a room together the first chance she got.

It’s my party and I’ll cry if I want to
Cry if I want to, cry if I want to
You would cry too if it happened to you

Michelle kicked a pebble with her sandal as she attempted to put on a party face. She was not going to give Jesse the satisfaction of seeing her cry, and she would never let Drew know that she had managed to ruin her party.

Michelle looked up as she heard someone approaching her. Why couldn’t Pilar just let her be?

“Michelle? Are you back here?”

Michelle almost fell over when she heard Dannys voice. Why was Danny looking for her?

“Yeah, ummm, I’m here.”

Danny came through the little gate, and gave her a smile that managed to make Michelle smile in return. “Hi.”

“I didn’t think you’d be able to come.”

He looked a little confused. “I told Pilar to tell you that…”

“No, I meant I figured you would be busy or something.”

Danny got a teasing glint in his eyes as he looked at the petite, blond girl he had always liked; the girl who, over the past two years, had blossomed into the gorgeous creature he saw before him. Pilar was right, he had a thing for Michelle. But that didn’t mean he couldn’t tease her a bit. “So you only invited me because you thought I wouldn’t come?”

She rubbed her hand over her face in an attempt to avoid his eyes, “Not really. I thought you wouldn’t want to come.”

“I wanted to be here.” He walked over to her, kissing her cheek as he sat down next to her. She tried not to blush, but Danny noticed the color rising in her cheeks. “So, I heard you broke up with Jesse. You OK?”

“Don’t,” Michelle said stiffly.

“Don’t what?” Danny asked, more than a little surprised at the angry tone.

“I don’t want anyone else feeling sorry for me. I already have a big brother. I don’t need another one.”

Danny was so startled that he laughed, more out of irony than anything. When he stopped, he quietly added, “I am not trying to be a big brother.”

So upset by his laughter, Michelle turned to walk away, but the quiet words he said brought her to a stand still. Neither seemed to know what to say after that, and the awkward silence which ensued was deafening. Michelle sighed and headed for the gate, but Danny jumped up and put a hand on her shoulder to stop her. “Michelle, I….”

“You laughed.”

“I only laughed because the idea of me being like a brother to you is ridiculous.” He took a deep breath. “I have feelings for you that are not even remotely brother-like.”

“What do you mean?” she asked as she turned to face him, shock written all over her features.

“I mean, I don’t want you to think of me as….. never mind.”

“No. What do you want?” Michelle asked angrily, assuming he was just trying to be nice since she was hurting.

Danny didn’t answer. He wasn’t quite sure how to respond. So, he acted instead.

The minute Michelle felt Danny pull her to him and press his lips to hers, she lost her ability to think or speak. She was absolutely incapable of any movement except for kissing him back.

Danny pulled back much sooner than he wanted to it occurred to him Michelle hadn’t exactly given him permission, or expressed interest, or done anything but get angry at him. And right now he couldn’t judge the look on her face.

“Well, I didn’t expect that. That’s what you wanted?” She felt stunned, and she knew she probably looked it, too.

“Yeah, it’s what I want. How do you feel about that?”

“Amazingly good.”

“Good.” Danny let out the breath he had been holding. You could probably make the case that he had been holding his breath since the week before when Pilar mentioned that Michelle and Jesse had broken up.

Feeling slightly awkward, Michelle motioned towards the box in Danny’s hand. “Is that a present for me?”

“It is, yeah.” Danny laughed and handed her the box. “I forgot I was even holding it.”

“Did you make Olga wrap this?” Michelle asked as she opened the brightly wrapped package.

“No…. well, yes, but I helped.”

“You did a very good job,” she smiled, and Danny almost fell over with the relief of having Michelle joking with him again.

“It’s an SU sweatshirt.”

“Yup. I figured you could use one now.”

“Good idea. Thank you.” She leaned over and kissed him on the cheek.

“You don’t like it.”

“I love it!”

“Michelle.”

“No, I do.”

“Did you look at what else was in the box?” he asked nervously.

Michelle looked back at the tissue paper. “Oh!” she said with real pleasure. “It’s a pendant. How pretty!”

“It’s my fraternity charm.”

“Really?”

“You’re supposed to wear the necklace.” Michelle didn’t respond so Danny just kept talking. “That is, if you accept it. It’s kind of like giving you a high school ring.”

“So, youre saying that kiss wasn’t just to make me feel better? You want to be with me?”

Danny leaned closer and whispered, “If you weren’t sure we should probably do it again.”

“That is an excellent idea.”

Judy and Johnny just walked through the door
Like a queen with her king
Oh what a birthday surprise
Judy’s wearin’ his ring

Michelle and Danny were dancing, but Michelle kept playing with the pendant that lay against her throat. Danny just smiled at her. “I’m glad you like it.”

“I adore it.”

Suddenly the smile left Danny’s face, and he gripped Michelle a little tighter.

“What’s the matter?” she asked, trying to turn and see what upset him. When she did she saw Drew and Jesse, and Drew was showing someone her hand. Jesse must have given Drew his ring.

Danny practically growled. “Why is he here?”

“Because he has no tact.”

“Are you OK?”

“I am a million times better than OK.” She leaned up and kissed him. Danny relaxed at her touch and leaned into the kiss. If they had noticed anything going on around them, they would have seen Drew looking furious that Michelle wasnt jealous or even aware of her new status as Jesse’s girlfriend. But Michelle had much bigger things on her mind.

Danny cupped Michelle’s face in his hands as he kissed her, and looked up when he felt moisture on her cheeks. “Baby? What’s wrong? You shouldn’t being crying at your party!”

“You would cry too if you got everything you ever wanted as a birthday gift. And besides,” she smiled up at him, “It’s my party. I can do whatever I like.”

Archived Links Version

http://stenzmania.yuku.com/topic/983/t/Alisia-It-s-My-Party-stand-alone-PG.html
http://stenzmania.yuku.com/topic/664

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

