Celebration and Chair Slide Aug 21 2001

Check out my latest episode guide post.

chair-slide

Tues., Aug. 21, 2001 – At the Bauer House: Everyone is celebrating Danny’s release, drinking champagne and toasting each other.

Danny: “Well, Ross, no offense you did a great job, but I think the real hero of my trial is Michelle. So to my amazing wife if not for your incredible stubborness….and determination I wouldn’t be here right now. I love you.”

Frank tells them that they still have to protect Michelle until Carmen is caught. Claire demands the police keep eyes on Manny until Carmen is caught, but Frank says he doesn’t have the budget for it. Danny pulls Frank to the side and asks him why he is acting angry towards him. Frank is upset that he punched him and escaped. Danny tells him he had to get to Michelle and he’d only decked him to cover him with his higher ups. Frank tells him if he wants to go straight he should concentrate on “following the law, not bending it.” Frank punches Danny and Tony comes in ready to hurt him. Danny laughs and tells Tony is it alright and Frank tells him they are even. Catalina tells Tony that the system works and she hopes he sees that. (As much as I dislike Catalina – calling her Cat is cute.) Tony tells her Michelle and Blake got Danny off, not the system. Just then Gus pokes his head in to greet the family. Gus comes in and tells everyone that there are so many cops on their side, it isn’t any wonder that Danny beat the rap. Tony doesn’t take Gus’s snide comments very well.

Danny: “Tony, Tony. It’s OK EX-Agent Aitoro is just yanking your chain. He knows full well that the videotape was real that Carmen is alive. He just can’t admit that because it means he lost.”

Michelle: “I think you may have to say that a little LOUDER because I think EX-Agent Aitoro has a problem hearing.”

Danny: “Oh, he heard me. Everyone in this room knows he lost, so please, please stay. Have a little champagne. Nothing will make this celebration sweeter than having you witness our happiness. A toast to EX-Agent Gus Aitoro I’m a free man today because of your blind vengance and your total incompetence. By all means keep up the good work.”

Gus leaves and everyone claps. Manny are estastic. Outside, Gus makes a call. Meanwhile, Blake tells Ross how brilliant he was. Ross tells Blake that he has lost his edge and that he feels he is growing old. He tells Blake that she, Danny and Michelle won the case, not him. Claire congratulates Michelle and Danny but tells Michelle how nuts she was to go after Carmen. Michelle tells Claire that she wouldn’t have had to if she hadn’t helped the prosecution. Danny tells Michelle how Claire helped him locate her at the airport. Claire tells her that she had to tell him to protect her. Michelle thinks they are very alike when it comes to protecting those they love. Claire offers to go ahead and set up that meeting with him and Alan. Danny is reluctant but Michelle thinks he can do a lot of things for Spaulding. Claire goes to call Alan. Michelle tells Danny she thinks it is a good thing and may turn into something. Claire calls and asks his assistant Sally to put her through to Alan. Sally tells Claire that Alan doesn’t have her on the list of people he wants to talk to. Claire is ticked. She goes back to Danny and Michelle and tells them that everything is fine and Danny has an interview first thing in the morning. Claire walks away and calls the Spaulding head of security. Everyone has FINALLY left leaving Michelle and Danny alone. Danny takes Michelle in his arms, spooning her and nibbling on her ear, neck, and shoulder. Michelle: “It’s over and you are free and we are going to start a whole new life together!” Danny is worried about Tony and where his head is. Michelle just wants to focus on the positive and getting on with their lives.

Cue couple theme song – Michelle sits down on Danny on the chair.

Danny: “I’m so lucky to have you. You stuck by me, worked so hard and saved my neck.”

Michelle: “You did the same for me, although I do have ONE request.”

Danny: “What?””

Michelle: “I don’t ever, EVER set foot on those docks again.”

Danny: “You’re telling me. Thank God you’re OK. Thank God you’re OK.”

Michelle: “Hey! What’s going on? You’re supposed to be happy there.”

Danny: “I am. I am. I just didn’t think this day would ever come.”

Michelle: “OH I did.”

Danny: “How do you do that? You always keep the faith, all the time.”

Michelle: “It’s, uh, it’s called love.”

Danny: “Do you know how much I love you? How much I love our little boy? How just the idea of being apart from you maybe forever was…..”

Michelle: “Don’t!”

Danny: “I almost lost you.”

Michelle: “Danny…”

Danny: “I almost lost Robbie.”

Michelle: “You’re never going to lose us, not now, not ever.”

Danny: “It’s so hard to believe that. We’ve just been living like this for so long. Always waiting for us to be able to live our lives.”

Michelle: “And it’s finally happened. It HAS happened and I just want to celebrate with you, you know.”

Michelle tells Danny it’s too bad everyone else is gone so…

Michelle: “We have the whole house to ourselves, ALL afternoon. What are we going to do?”

Danny: “What if I take you upstairs and show you how much I love you?”

Michelle slides over on top of Danny up his chest and between his legs….the chair slide.

My Comments: Now I love Buzz and Frank I truly do, but honestly it gets a little ridiculous how they start taking over all the Bauer parties. Honestly I’d much rather have had Meta there and Robbie than Frank. And we have to have Greek music when a Cuban somba, an Irish jig, or a German polka would be more fitting for the family that actually lives in the house. Nice line unnaturally put there for real life, but deftly explains why neither Meta nor Robbie are at the party before anybody asks. It’s kind of nice they did include Claire. But GOOD GRIEF do we have to have Catalina contaminating every single storyline group shot? Whether it’s Santos, Bauer, Lewis, or even Cooper – BAM! – there she is. Loving Claire’s beautiful pantsuit. I realize it must be hard on Frank to be Danny’s friend – I mean honestly he is always a better friend to Danny than Danny is to him – but in this case if Danny had listened to Frank Michelle would have been dead no ifs ands or buts so take a chill pill. That said I think Danny owed Frank that punch, but he COULD have waited until after the party. I mean WHAT is it with Gus and just constantly tresspassing on the Bauers? They don’t like him and for good reason. I can get him baiting them in public and MAYBE even if he knocked first or even walked in a standing open door, but he’s always entering without the owner’s position. Claire keeps pushing Danny to set up a meeting with Alan. I know how she feels I’ve pushed someone to let me do something and then realized I couldn’t do it when they finally said OK.

I don’t understand though WHY did they push it quite this quick. They could have taken a week or so off the front burner. Why did Claire tell Danny she actually had an appointment immediately when she didn’t? She couldn’t say next week?

Robansuefarm is the handle of one of Manny and Guiding Light‘s biggest fans following in her family’s footsteps of Guiding Light fandom since 1939. This blog is an effort to make it easy to find Guiding Light and especially Manny online. Check back here for her blog, find fanfic previews and fake WSPR newscasts on her YouTube, find podcasts that look back to old shows and audios of her fanfics on Blog Talk Radio, and finally follow her on Twitter and Facebook.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

