Come With Me by Mel Chapter 17

Republisher’s Note: We’re still in the 1920s. Quick cheese it! It’s the cops!

Come With Me by Mel Chapter 17

What am I going to do? What can I say? Frank is looking at me, wanting to know. Maybe he doesn’t know. Maybe…

“Michelle, Tell me where were you last night!”

“I told you Frank, I was with Drew. We had dinner and girl talk.”

I look at David Grant. He still there holding my…

“Michelle, are you telling me the truth?”

I am getting sick of Frank, oh how I wish I can close my eyes and count to three and this to be a bad dream. Maybe it is, okay Michelle close your eyes and Frank will go away.

“Michelle, are you all right?” Frank asks wondering why Michelle closed her eyes.

Damn, he’s still here. “Yeah Frank. Yes, I am telling the truth.”

Frank puts the coffee cup down, and “Then why is it we found this coat at a speakeasy last night.” David hands him the white coat.

“I don’t know why Frank, I don’t go to those places.” Michelle regains her composure.

“You do know this is your coat?”

I am so getting tired of these questions. “Yes, but it was a gift.”

“A gift?”

“Yes, Drew gave it to me.” Michelle sat back, and watches Frank.

“Drew gave this to you?”

Isn’t that what I just said?, “Yes.”

“We also have Drew’s fur coat as well, do you have any idea how that happened?”

“I have not a clue, Frank.”

Frank looks at Michelle, “You’re lying.”

“Frank, would I lie to you?” Michelle gives Frank an innocent smile.

David stood and watched Michelle. Michelle’s eyes are wide and doe like with a smile that lights up the room. How could he resist a face like that?

A face of an angel that is what Michelle was an Angel, David thought.

Frank started rubbing his head, “Would you explain why we found a picture of you and your mother in the pocket of the coat.”

Michelle forgot about the picture she always carried with her. It was picture of her sitting in her mother lap. Maureen smiling and Michelle looking up at her smiling. She never went anywhere without that picture.

In the all that has happen within twenty-four hours, she must have forgotten.

“Do you still have it, Frank?” Frank could see the worried expression on her face.

“Yes, I do. But first how did your coat and Drew’s end up at the speakeasy?”

Jerk. Think Michelle, what can you say. Lie, I have to lie. “Okay, I let a friend of Drew’s borrow the coat. So did Drew, her friends’ borrowed the coats.”

“Do you know their names?”

“No, they weren’t my friends. I didn’t know them.”

“You didn’t know them and you let them wear your coat?”

“Yes, Drew gave me the coat. They were Drew’s friends I couldn’t say no.”

Frank looked satisfied with the answer.

“Well, thanks for answering the questions.” Frank reached into his coat pocket and pulled out the picture of Michelle and her mother.

“I’ll show myself out.”

“Umm… you could leave Drew’s coat here. I will see her later.”

“No, that is all right. We will take it to her.” Frank nodded and turn to leave. Michelle clutched the picture against her chest.

“It was nice meeting you, David.”

“Miss,” David followed Frank out the door.

Frank was sitting in the passenger side of the police car, while David got behind the wheel.

“So what you think, Frank?”

Frank looked at the Bauer house, “I think there is more than she is telling us. Come on, let go see why Miss Jacobs let her ‘friends’ borrow her fur coat and purse.”

* * * * ** * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Ray watches a play of emotions on Drew face. He saw surprise, shock, then anger. He anticipated her welcome and prevented it when Drew attempted to slap him with the receiver. He watched her open her mouth to speak but he silenced her with his lips. He wanted to kiss her from the first glance.

She fought at first but as Ray pressed the kiss further she sensed herself surrender. She dropped the receiver, and put her hand around his waist pulling him closer. He pressed her against the desk, bending her slightly back as he pressed to get closer. The kiss grew more urgent; Ray began to feel her neck.

Drew was losing herself, her mind was telling her to fight, but her body wasn’t reacting. At that moment she didn’t care who he was or what he does, all she knew was that no one had ever made her surrender. Drew could feel his back, the muscles under her fingertips. She felt the top desk against her back, and his weight against her. Upon instinct Drew wrapped one leg behind his back pressing him closer she felt Ray moan against her lips. Drew gave a silent thanks to Chanel for the pantsuit she was wearing. Ray was kissing her mindless, she had no thoughts, every thought were fleeting her mind.

“Ahem…” Drew opened her eyes, at the interruption. She was shocked and angry at herself. She pushed Ray off her. “Get off!”

Drew started to straighten herself out. She didn’t want to look at Ray, she was afraid that if she looked at him he would see the effect he had on her. She still could feel his eyes on her.

Ray was looking at her while she straightens her clothes; he wanted to continue what they started. He only meant to talk to her, show her there was nothing to be scared of. But just seeing her, he lost control. He wanted her like no other. He willed his body to cool down but looking at her set his senses on fire. He was still looking at her until Danny spoke.

“Umm… sorry to interrupt.” Danny couldn’t hide the smile on his face. “But I need to know if Michelle is here?”

Drew head snapped up, “No, she is not here. I want both of you to leave.”

“I am not leaving until you tell me where she is,” Danny was looking at Drew with such intensity, that her gaze wavered.

“I will not tell you where she is, and tell you the truth she doesn’t want to see you. Ever!” She picked up the receiver and placed it back on the phone. Her back was to them; she could feel her heart beating fast. Ray was still close to her, “Drew, why you tell him where she is…”

That was it, Drew turned and attacked Ray. Ray grabbed her wrists, holding them to her sides. Drew was glaring at Ray. The phone was ringing. “Let go, I have to get that.”

“No, you have a maid. She will answer.”

Mary knocked on the door, “Miss Jacobs, Miss Bauer on the phone.”

“Tell her I’ll call her back.”

“She said it was urgent.”

Danny stood there, watching the pair. He was amazed that Drew attacked Ray, he never seen a girl react like that to his cousin. Usually they would fall at his feet or say or do anything for Ray. But Drew, he admitted was something else. He heard Mary mention Bauer. Could it be, Danny thought?

Michelle is a Bauer. He knew where the Bauers lived, everyone in Springfield knew who the Bauers were. His instincts were telling him it was she on the phone. Danny looked at his cousin, “It’s her.”

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

