Come With Me by Mel Chapter 14

Republisher’s Note: We’re still in the Roaring 20s.

Come With Me by Mel Chapter 14

Drew came down the stairs and saw Michelle leaving her study.

“Did you talk to your brother?”

Michelle looks at Drew and the expression on her face told her that she had and it wasn’t very pleasant. Drew blew out a whistle, “Wow, that bad huh?”

Michelle nodded, “Yeah, apparently he called this morning and didn’t like the fact that I wasn’t here.”

“Oh is that all. Your brother needs to lighten up.”

“Oh that’s not bothering me. What’s bothering me is that Rick said Frank came by the house and asked to speak to me.”

Drew almost fell down the last three steps. She grabbed the banister; “Frank wants to talk to you? About what?”

“I don’t know. But Rick said that Frank seem pretty serious so Rick is sending the car to pick me up. Frank is suppose to return to my house at three.”

Drew looked at the grandfather clock in the corner. “So you have an hour left till Frank gets to your house.”

“Yep, what do you think Frank is going to ask me about?”

“What you think, Michelle? What else would give him a reason to show up at your house asking to speak to you? Huh? He is going to ask you about last night.”

“That’s what I am afraid of. Rick is going to kill me.” Michelle walked into the drawer room and sat down on the love seat. “Do you know what Rick is going to do to me, when he finds out where I was.” She tucks her chin into her chest allowing her curls to mask her worried expression.

“Oh, don’t worry, Michelle, you could think of something. You’re a bright girl. Just lie.”

Michelle looked up at Drew and threw her hands up in the air, “Lie, you want me to lie. I can’t lie, you know I am not good at lying, Drew.”

Drew walk over to Michelle, “What else can you do? You can’t say to Frank, Oh hi Frank. Yes I was at a speakeasy, where I was sipping illegal champagne and dancing with mobsters. Oh yeah Michelle, he is really going go easy on you.”

Michelle mind was racing, what did she just say mobster, “Wait a sec, Drew, what do you mean dancing with a mobster? Nino was a mobster?!”

Drew rolled her eyes at Michelle, “That’s what I been trying to tell you. Nino is a mobster. But Michelle I didn’t just say mobster, I said mobsters.”

Drew emphases the “s” sound. Michelle eyes widen, “That’s right, Michelle, not one but more than one.”

Michelle mind was racing. She didn’t want to believe what she was hearing. The fact that Nino was gangster seem to fit but not… No it can’t be true. “What are you saying Drew? That Danny was…is…”

“That’s exactly what I am saying your Danny, who you think must be the most super guy, is a mobster.”

At that moment Michelle couldn’t stand the thought or even think that the man she could see herself love the rest of her life was a man who robbed and kill people.

Drew stood there watching Michelle. She could see the hurt that her words caused Michelle she knew that Michelle wouldn’t be able to see the reality of her love.

Drew sat down next to Michelle, “Listen it is better this way. He was trouble. I was trying to tell you but you wouldn’t listen. I hope you didn’t develop any feelings for him.”

Michelle looked at Drew and felt the tears roll down her eyes when she heard Drew say “I hope you didn’t develop any real feelings for him” Real feelings she said, how could they get any more real if she felt she love him. “It’s too late Drew, I’m in love with him.”

Michelle started to cry. Drew hugged her and allowed her to cry over her new red Chanel pants suit. “Oh Michelle, I am so sorry.”

Michelle sat up and wiped her tears, “It’s okay. Earlier I was thinking if I would get to see him again. But I know now that I can never see him again. It is no longer a possibility.”

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

“Did you find it yet?” Ray asked Danny who was looking for the “Jacobs” in the phonebook. Danny jaw tightened as he saw it; “Yeah, but we have a problem.”

“What?” Ray grabbed the phonebook out of Danny hands. Then Ray saw and looked at Danny.

“Yep Ray there seems to be about fifteen Jacobs in Springfield. Now do you have a solution as to which will lead to be Drew Jacobs?” Danny sat back in the booth in their family restaurant. Danny stared at his food. Ray sat back and rubbed his forehead. All ready they had two “appointments” that had drained some of their energy which is usually high in the afternoon but the search for Drew and Michelle was what drained the rest of it. They were feeling euphoric after their little meeting with George but the strain of seeing the 15 names printed in black ink put it to a damper. They had about 45 minutes till three and they would have to be at the train station. Danny was looking at his food when his head snapped up. “Okay, we could do this. We can have one the younger men call all of these numbers and ask for Drew.”

Ray smiled at Danny, “Now why didn’t think about that. Yeah and I know who should do it.”

At the same time they said, “Juan!”

Danny called for one of the waiters and asks if they knew where Juan was.

The waiter told him Juan was in the back eating. Danny told him the waiter to fetch Juan and gave him a dollar bill.

Juan came to the booth with a napkin strap around his neck. “Yes, you wanted to see me.”

Danny smiled at Juan. Juan was young man in late teens, he was always ready to do whatever he or Ray wanted. On many occasions Juan expressed his undying loyalty to him and Ray and said he would be willing to do anything. “Yes, Juan we have a little task for you.”

Juan looked pleased and nodded his head for orders.

Ray spoke, “We want you to call all these numbers that says Jacobs and ask if a Drew Jacobs stays there.”

Juan looked confused; “You want me to just call houses and see if there was someone by the name of Drew?”

Danny tore out the pages and handed them to Juan, “Yes that is all we ask you to do. Call these numbers and simply ask if there is a Drew around. Got it?”

Juan nodded his head. “Yes, I understand.”

“Now Juan,” Ray stood up “We are counting on you. We would do it ourselves but we have to pick up my cousin from the train station.”

Juan nodded, smiled at Ray.

“Juan, we’ll be back from picking up my sister. I trust you can keep this a secret.”

“Oh yes, I can do that.”

“Good, now you can use the phone in the restaurant.” Danny flagged the waiter over; “Juan is to use the phone in the back. Make sure no ones bother him while he is using the phone. Tell who ever asks that I said so. Is that understood?” The waiter nodded and showed the Juan the way to the phone.

“Come on Ray, let’s get going.”

Ray couldn’t help but smile. Soon he would be able to see Drew and see where things stand.

Danny was over flowing with joy. But he had a feeling that something was wrong. That feeling made him even more determine to see Michelle.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

