Something About You – Part 49 by ShellyLynn

Republisher’s Note: Michelle fainted will Bill do anything else.

Something About You – Part 49 by ShellyLynn

“You lying Son of a …” Bill exploded, his body lurching in Danny’s direction. “You have been nothing but a pain in my ass…” he said as he knocked into his adversary forcing him back against the wall.

Danny shoved Bill off of him, landing a punch to Bill’s jaw and sending him reeling backwards. Bill shook his head and then headed back toward Danny, unwilling to concede the skirmish so easily

“What’s going on in here?” Vanessa shrieked, walking in the door and immediately trying to get between the two men and stop their fighting.

“Get out of my way,” Bill said, forcing his way past his mother and knocking her small body to the ground in the process.

“What has gotten into you?” Mr. Lewis asked, stepping in and holding Bill back while Danny wiped at his bloody lip. “How dare you treat your mother like that. You have been acting strange for weeks and I’ve ignored it because I thought it was just the adjustment of being back home, but it is going to end now. I want to know what is going on.”

“Why don’t you tell him, Bill?” Danny prodded, his anger getting the better of him. “Tell him how you blackmailed Michelle into agreeing to marry you. Why don’t you tell him everything…”

“He’s lying,” Bill sneered. “You can’t trust him. He just wants to tear Michelle and I apart so he can get to her inheritance.”

“What inheritance?” Danny asked, unaware of anything unusual that Michelle would be receiving.

“I think maybe you should go now,” Mr. Lewis said, looking Danny in the eyes. “We have a lot to talk about.”

“I’m not leaving without Michelle,” he said, once again moving toward her slumbering body.

“I don’t think you really have a choice,” Mr. Lewis said, stepping in his path before he could reach her side. “I’m not letting you near her.”

“Billy,” Vanessa said, trying to get his attention, “I really think you should listen to him…”

“Are you taking his side over your own son?” Mr. Lewis said, trying to understand her reasoning. “After what he just accused Bill of we should throw him out of this house.”

“He has a right to be here as long as…” she began before a soft voice made her pause.

“Danny?”

They all turned and watched as Michelle began to toss and turn on the couch, “Where’s Danny? I have to tell him…”

Danny used the moment of surprise to make it to her side. “It’s okay baby, I’m right here,” he whispered, brushing a stray curl out of her face. “I’m not going anywhere…”

“What’s going on here?” Billy asked, more confused than ever.

“She’s my wife, I told you…” Danny said, his eyes never leaving his love’s face.

“That’s what I was trying to tell you, too,” Vanessa said, her eyes steely with determination. “They’re married.”

“It’s true? You knew about this and you let her lie to our son? Do you have any idea how embarrassed he must be?” Mr. Lewis said, his anger at his wife’s actions evident in his every word. “How dare you put them before this family…”

“Do you know what our son has done to this poor couple?” she asked, disgust at her son’s actions displayed across her face. “He tried to force this poor girl to marry him, he threatened to take custody of this young man’s nephew away from him and there hasn’t even been one ounce of proof that he’s the boy’s father. He has basically torn their lives apart and I will not let him continue to harm Maureen’s only daughter. Especially now that there’s another child involved.”

“So it’s true?” Danny whispered, his attention stolen by the mention of a child. “She’s really pregnant?”

“Yes,” Vanessa confirmed, “She just found out a little while ago. That’s why she’s in here. She passed out when she heard the news.”

“Danny,” Michelle whispered again, this time her eyes fluttering partially open, “I’m so glad you’re here,” she told him, her voice soft as she licked her dry lips. “It was so awful…”

“Shhh,” he said, pulling her body against his. “I’m so glad you’re all right.”

“I have to tell you,” she said, pulling back slightly to look into his eyes.

“I already know,” he said, a slight smile creeping onto his face despite the circumstances. “I’m going to be a daddy.”

The smile broke into an all out grin when Michelle breathed a sigh of relief. “I had no idea,” she said meekly, still unsure that he was all right with the surprising turn of events, “the thought never even crossed my mind that it was a possibility. Are you sure you are okay with this?”

“Of course I am. Do you know how many times I have dreamed about having a family with you? I couldn’t want anything more. I wish we were at a more stable point in our lives, but I love you and I’m already in love with this child…” he whispered gently, brushing his thumb back and forth across her pale cheeks.

“Would you two shut up?” Bill growled, his anger at watching the two coo at each other growing with each passing second.

They turned, suddenly remembering that they weren’t alone, “You two seem to be forgetting that I am still holding the cards in this situation,” Bill said, forgoing all pretenses and giving them an ultimatum. “If Michelle doesn’t marry me tomorrow, you can say goodbye to that little kid you two are so fond of.”

“What kid?” Bill Sr. asked, still confused by the events unfolding before his eyes. He knew he hadn’t been as involved in Bill’s life as much as he probably should have, but all the things he had heard in the previous few minutes still took him as too outrageous to possibly be real.

“One that isn’t his,” a voice said from the hallway, startling everyone in the room with its presence.

“What are you doing here?” Michelle asked, looking at the woman before her. She had been her roommate and once thought this woman to be her best friend, but after her recent actions, she wasn’t sure she could trust anything she said anymore.

“I can’t let this go on any longer,” the woman said, stepping inside the room. “Bill isn’t Michael’s father.”

“You better watch what you say,” Bill sneered, his mind working furiously to come up with some way out of the situation he now found himself in.

“Not only isn’t he the father, but I can prove that he intended to bribe a hospital official to say that he was,” she continued, unfazed by his threats. “I’m not going to let you hurt any of us anymore.”

“Bill?” Mr. Lewis asked while the others looked on. “Is this true?”

“She’s lying. I can’t believe you trust her on this without any proof. It’s just her word against mine…”

“No,” she said, “I don’t take chances.”

Michelle mouthed a silent thank you to her friend across the room as she watched Bill’s stance grow decisively more defensive. It was obvious to everyone in the room that there was something she knew that could bring his demise.

“After everything I did for you, you’re going to lie about me?” Bill tried, his effort renewed to keep from taking the fall for his actions. “I know you were upset when I broke it off to get together with Michelle, but…”

“What you did for me?” she laughed, “You mean when you used me, or when you lied to me to get me to sleep with you? Or do you mean when you hit me? Or maybe when you forced me to help you continue hurting the best friend I ever had? You never did anything for me that wasn’t simply looking out for yourself, and now that’s exactly what I’m doing. I want my life back the way it was before all of this happened.”

“You little…” he growled, “you’re going to pay for this. You never should have crossed me.”

“You can go to hell Bill Lewis, because you couldn’t possibly hurt me any more than you already have,” she said, tears staining her cheeks as the whole situation collapsed around her. “I won’t let you win this time.”

“You aren’t that smart,” he said, turning his back on her and walking toward Michelle. “You can’t prove anything. That boy is mine and I’m going to have him, unless Michelle changes her mind and agrees to marry me…”

“You ruined my life Bill Lewis, and I am not going to let you ruin theirs,” she said, reaching into the deep pocket of her jacket and pulling out a small cassette tape.

“This is getting out of hand,” Billy said, walking over to the phone. “I’m going to call the police and let them come sort this mess out.”

“There’s no need to make that call,” a voice said from the hallway, walking in with two armed policemen at his side. “I already brought them. “Thank you for your help Stacey,” the man said, “They’ll take it from here.”

The police officers crossed the room and approached Bill. “You have the right to remain silent, anything you say can and will be used against you in a court of law. You have the right to an attorney, if you can not afford one…”

“What is going on here?” he said, fighting against the officers as they attempted to cuff him. “She trespassed into our home and has been standing here threatening me. You should be arresting her, I’ve done nothing wrong…”

“Now, Bill,” Ross said, shaking his finger in the air, “You know that’s not true, and I have all the proof of that I need right here. Not only that you are not, and couldn’t possibly be, Michael’s father, but that you have been stealing and laundering money from both Lewis and Bauer enterprises for months.”

“You couldn’t possibly prove that,” Bill said, his hands cuffed behind his back as he continued to struggle, “because it isn’t true. Dad,” he pleaded, trying to gain his father’s sympathy as a last resort, “I wouldn’t do that to you, you have to believe me. They’re making this up…”

“I have it all right here, Billy,” Ross said, looking at the man he had respected over the years and wondering how he could be so blind when it came to his own son. “Bank statements, accounting paperwork, fudged computer entries, corresponding company records…” he said, holding the envelope in the air. “It’s undeniable.” He looked across the room at Michelle and Danny, so happy to finally be getting the chance he’d missed out on for over twenty years of her life, the chance to be a father and protect her.

“That’s not possible. You couldn’t have possibly gotten any of that legally. Someone on in our organization would have had to have given you access to our records and I know that I didn’t…” Billy’s voice trailed off. “Honey?” he asked, suddenly thinking about the one person who could have given him the information he needed.

Vanessa nodded her head, her conviction that she did the right thing holding strong despite what was about to happen to her son. “I talked to Maureen and when she told me what was going on, I knew that I had to do something. He has to be stopped, Billy, he needs help…”

“So you decided that putting him in jail was the best way to help?” Bill Sr. laughed at what he found to be a ludicrous statement. “He’s your son!”

“Look at all these people he’s hurt,” she said, gesturing around the room. “I couldn’t let anyone else get punished for our failure as parents, especially innocent children. I had no choice.”

“We’re going to need all of you to come down to the station and give us your statements,” one of the police officers spoke up, breaking into the argument.

“I need to take her to the hospital first,” Danny spoke up, wrapping his arm around Michelle.

“We really need to get her statement first,” the younger of the two officers spoke.

Danny frowned as he kissed Michelle’s forehead, “She’s been through so much lately, and now with the pregnancy, I really don’t want to take any chances…”

“I don’t need to go to the hospital,” she argued, pulling away slightly, “I’m fine. Really”

“After everything that’s happened, please, just humor me okay?” he asked, flashing the puppy dog eyes that he knew she couldn’t resist.

“Okay, after we talk to he police,” she compromised, leaning her head against his chest as a smile spread across her face. “I guess it’s the least I can do considering all the back rubs and late night craving runs your going to be dong for me over the next 8 months,” she smiled. “I’ll try not to eat anything too disgusting, but I have to admit I’ve really been craving peanut butter and banana sandwiches the last few days…”

“Bring it on,” he laughed, helping her to stand, “As long as we’re together, I can handle just about anything.”

She hugged him tightly, enjoying the feel of once again being in his arms. She still couldn’t fathom what her life would have been like had she never met him that day in the hallway. “Can you give me a minute?” she asked, looking across the room, “There’s someone I need to talk to.”

He nodded his head, “me too.”

He headed across the room to thank Vanessa for her help while Michelle made her way to Stacey. “Thanks,” she said simply, not even sure where to start a conversation that was long overdue.

“I’m so sorry,” Stacey said, looking her friend in the eye, “not only for helping Bill for so long, but for what I said about Danny. He really is a good man and I can see how much he loves you.”

Michelle looked into her friend’s sad eyes, “I know how much you cared about Bill and what it cost you to do this for us, but I don’t know how to get past what you did. You really hurt me… us and I can’t honestly understand why. Did you really want Bill so badly that you were willing to throw everything else away?”

“I was always so jealous of you,” she admitted, her remorse showing clearly on her face, “You always had everything. Money, brains, tons of guys chasing after you. I guess I wanted to prove that I could get someone who’d always been after you, but he wasn’t worth losing myself or our friendship for. I just wish I had figured it out sooner. I really thought he loved me…”

“I’m sorry,” Michelle said, watching Stacey break down in front of her, “One of these days you are going to find that person and you won’t have to give up anything for them. If they’re really the one, they won’t let you.”

“I’m so happy for you,” she responded, wiping her tears away, “Is there any hope… any way that we could be friends again?”

“I don’t know, give me some time. You did a lot of hurtful things…” her voice trailed off as her hand went to her forehead, “I think…”

“Woah,” Danny said, seeing Michelle start to sway and quickly moving to her side. “We are definitely going right to the hospital.” He lifted her up into his arms and headed toward the door with a concerned Stacey on his heals. “Where are you going?” the officer asked, noticing their attempt at leaving.

“She just about passed out again, I’m taking her to the hospital to get checked out. If you need your statement now, I suggest you try to reach us there.”

“Are you okay?” Ross rushed over, leaving his conversation with the Mr. Lewis to be at his daughter’s side.

“I’m fine,” she argued, “Danny’s just being overprotective.”

“She nearly fainted a few seconds ago and I want to get her and the baby checked out, Is there something wrong with that?” Danny asked, exasperated by her unwillingness to let him take care of her.

“The baby?” Ross asked, confusion setting in. “Are you talking about Michael?”

“No,” Michelle smiled, looking up into Danny’s eyes and smiling, “You’re about to be a grandpa.”

Ross looked at her stomach and back at her face. “You’re going to have a baby?”

She bit her lip and smiled, suddenly feeling like a child. Maybe, somehow in the process of having her own child, she would be able to regain some of what she missed by building a relationship with the father she had always wanted. “We just found out today.”

“I’m so happy for you,” he said as Danny set her carefully on her feet and she accepted her father’s hug.

“I’m so glad that I get to share this with you,” she smiled, a few tears falling from her eyes.

“I wouldn’t miss it,” he whispered, enjoying their newfound closeness. “Let’s get you to the doctor.”

“We still need your statements,” the police officer argued, following behind the men as they led her out the door.

“Like he said,” Ross spoke up, a huge smile lighting his face for the first time in what seemed like years, “We’re going to take care of my first grandchild. You’ll just have to wait.”

“Thank you,” Michelle said as they made their way down the hallway and out to the car.

“It was my pleasure,” he said, opening his car door so that Michelle and Danny could both climb into the back seat. “This is a new beginning, for all of us.”

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

