Something About You – Part 47 by ShellyLynn

Republisher’s Note: The stress increases as we have to see if Danny-Michelle or Ed-Bill ‘s plan will win out.

Something About You – Part 47 by ShellyLynn

Danny paced nervously outside the door to Ross’ office as he waited for the appointment Ross was taking care of to leave. He couldn’t help but be frantic about the situation they found themselves in. He had been waiting all day for the man he was counting on to save them to call him and tell him everything was taken care of. Instead, with just under an hour left before the rehearsal dinner was to begin, he found himself outside the man’s door, hoping that the answers he would get in a few short minutes would be the words he needed to hear.

The door opened and Danny was surprised to see Vanessa Lewis exit the office. He was momentarily stunned by the strange turn of events, but found himself making his way through the doorway to see what was going on. For the first time, he contemplated how little he really knew about the plan that he and the love of his life were trusting with their lives. “Is everything all right?” Danny asked, as Ross looked up in surprise. “You were supposed to call me and it’s getting down to the wire. You won’t answer my phone calls or return my messages. Is everything under control?”

“Danny,” Ross said, looking up in surprise. “Everything is fine. What are you doing here? You could blow everything if the wrong people see you with me. This is a very delicate situation.”

“Are we ready?” Danny asked, ignoring the comments made in regards to his appearance. He needed to know what was going on, despite the precariousness of their situation.

“Almost, I’m still missing one very important piece of evidence and then we can go to the police. I’m hoping though, that I was just able to secure it,” Ross said cryptically.

“What does that mean?” Danny asked impatiently. He hated relying so heavily on other people when it came to his life with Michelle, even if they were her parents. Somehow, he was sure he would feel much better if they would just give him a little more information on what exactly would be taking place that evening.

“It means, that if everything goes as planned, the two of you will be free to start your lives together, tonight.”

“IF?” Danny repeated, his voice raised slightly as he thought about what would happen ‘if’ things didn’t work out. “’If’ is not good enough for me. This is your daughter’s future we’re talking about here.”

“And I want nothing more than to make sure it is as happy as possible. Do you really think I would be willing to let her down?” Ross queried, his tone annoyed, yet betraying a hint of fear. “I have already done that enough to last a lifetime.”

Danny immediately felt contrite for his apparent accusation. “I know that you love her, too. I’m sorry.”

“You know, Daniel,” Ross said, walking out from behind his desk. “You don’t have to apologize to me. You love my daughter with all your heart and that is the best thing you could ever do for me. We both just want what’s best for her.”

“I’ll take good care of her,” Danny answered, suddenly feeling the need to make that promise. “She’s my life.”

“Well, right now, we’re just trying to save the other most important person in your life.”

The moment of honesty and feeling immediately turned awkward, as there was a knock on the door.

“Mr. Marler,” his secretary’s voice rang, “there’s a delivery here for you.”

* * * * * * * *

Michelle paced the floor of her room at the Lewis mansion. She could hear people arriving at the door and being taken into the huge area where the rehearsal dinner was to take place. Normally, the only people attending such an event would be those who were involved with the wedding. However, since the wedding was more of a business deal than a marriage ceremony to Bill, there were many business associates congregating to join them in what seemed to her more of an extravagant party than a rehearsal dinner.

She looked at her watch and sat down on the bed. She could still remember her father giving her that very watch for her sixteenth birthday. He wasn’t around much, but he sent her a package from Europe telling her that he was sorry he wasn’t able to make it home but that she would be able to come see him whenever she wanted now that she had a brand new car. She had put the watch on her wrist and then taken off to go see her larger, more valuable present. Although she enjoyed the car, for years what she really treasured was that watch because she always thought he had actually taken time to hand-pick it. As far as she could remember, that was the last birthday that it seemed as if her father even cared she was turning a year older. Of course, years later she found out that he had sent his secretary to pick it out. She even wrote the card for him, but still, for some reason she always held on to it.

She snapped out of her reverie and looked down again. She would be expected to make her appearance in less than fifteen minutes and there was still no sign of her father (it still seemed weird to think of him that way) or Danny. The thing she found strange was, no matter what was happening and no matter how hard it would be for both of them, she knew that Danny’s mere presence would give her the strength to pull off the charade for a while longer. Even though he should be the one standing up with her and not Bill.

There was a short knock on the door and then it opened and Vanessa’s head popped in. “Are we ready?” she asked, noticing Michelle’s less than thrilled expression. “You’ll be fine,” she said, walking over to her younger counterpart, “I promise these things aren’t that bad. It will all be over with before you know it.”

Michelle gave her a smile, wishing that there were some way to get out of this without hurting the woman she had always thought of as a second mother. “You’re probably right,” she said, starting to stand up.

“Woah,” Vanessa said, helping her back on the bed as she swayed and her knees began to buckle. “Stay here, I’ll go get the doctor to look at you.”

Michelle leaned her head down and placed it in her hands, “That’s not necessary, I’m sure it’s just nerves…”

“Nonsense, I’m getting him. You just lay down. We’ll cancel tonight if we have to. You need to take care of yourself.”

Michelle sighed deeply and moved to lean back against the headboard. She really was fine, she assured herself, there was just a lot going on and she hadn’t had anything to eat all day…

“Ms. Bauer,” a gentleman knocked lightly on the partially opened the door a few minutes later. “Mrs. Lewis sent me to check you out. Is it all right if I come in?”

“Yes, come in,” Michelle spoke, her head once again beginning to spin.

“What seems to be the problem?” he asked, setting his black bag down on the bed next to her. “I’m sure it’s nothing. I just haven’t felt well lately, but with all the stress and I know I haven’t been eating as well as I should be…”

“What exactly are the symptoms?” he asked, taking a blood pressure cuff and wrapping it around her bare arm.

“Well, I’ve been sick to my stomach and I’ve experienced some lightheadedness and dizziness, I had problems not too long ago because I wasn’t eating properly and I’m sure it’s just the same thing again. I promise, after tomorrow I’ll get my eating habits straightened out and it will all go away,” she informed him.

“Well,” he smiled gently, “you really should be eating better and that may well be your source of problem, but why don’t you let me take some blood to be sure.”

She nodded her head in acceptance, turning her head to the side as he stuck the needle in her arm. “I’ll call and let you know what I find out,” he said, directing his comment not only to Michelle but also to Vanessa who previously unbeknownst to the two of them had entered the room.

“Thank you,” the two ladies said in unison as he gathered up his things and walked out.

“I’m feeling much better,” Michelle said, carefully standing up on her own.

“Are you sure you’re up to going through with this?” Vanessa asked, noticing Michelle’s measured steps and her tired eyes.

“Of course,” the younger woman responded, forcing a smile. “I can’t miss my own rehearsal dinner. Just give me a minute and I’ll be right down.”

* * * * * * *

Bill passed the doctor in the hallway on the way to see Michelle, “How is she?” he asked, playing the part of the concerned fiancee to the hilt.

“I’m going to take some blood, but if it’s what I think it is, she’ll be fine. She just needs some rest. Congratulations, you have a beautiful woman there.”

“I can’t believe how lucky I am,” Bill smiled, trying to hide his true feelings and get to Michelle. He started to retreat when another thought popped into his head.

“Oh, can you do me a favor, call me instead of Michelle when you get the results. I think it would be easier for her if she finds out what’s bothering her from me,” he requested politely.

“I’m sure it’s not anything serious,” the doctor assured him.

“She’s just had a rough time lately with her mother being in the hospital and all. I really think it would be better,” Bill reasoned.

“Well, you are about to be married. Okay, I should have results pretty quickly and I’ll let you know as soon as I get them.”

“Thanks, it means a lot to both of us that everything goes well tonight,” he smiled before walking passed the older man and making his way toward Michelle’s room.

He opened her door and nearly ran into her as she prepared to leave the room. “You better not be trying to pull anything here, Michelle, because you know what will happen if you try to back out on this now. You can kiss the little boy good bye because you’ll never see him again.”

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

