Something About You – Part 43 by ShellyLynn

Republisher’s Note: We get a Manny engagement. Aren’t those great?

Something About You – Part 43 by ShellyLynn

“You want me to marry you?” Michelle asked in disbelief, the tears flowing freely down her face.

“You find that so hard to believe?” he smiled, taking her hand in his as he knelt down on one knee. “Michelle Bauer, I love you and I would like nothing more than to spend the rest of my life with you. Will you marry me?”

He showed her the ring that he had retrieved from his shirt pocket as he waited for her response, the light beginning to filter through the window cascading off the diamond and making it sparkle. “I know that this isn’t the most romantic proposal in the world, and this ring isn’t exactly what you’ve always expected to wear, but…”

She looked down into his eyes and cut him off, “it’s perfect and I would love to marry you.”

“Is that a yes?” he teased, smiling as he watched her study the ring now on her fourth finger.

“Yes!” she smiled, throwing herself into his arms and knocking him over.

He laughed as she lay on top of him and then kissed her, “That’s the best answer I’ve ever heard.”

She sat up suddenly and he followed her, bewildered by the sudden change of mood, “There’s only one problem,” she laughed without humor, “What are we going to do about Bill?”

“I don’t want to worry about that right now,” he groaned sitting up alongside of her. “Tonight, if you’re up to it, we can go talk to your mother and see what type of plan she has in mind, but just for now, I want to act like any other people who just got engaged,” he loved the way that sounded coming out of his mouth, “and enjoy each other.”

“Our problems aren’t going to go away just because we pretend they don’t exist,” she contended, trying to make him realize the seriousness of their problems.

“I know that,” he pouted, “but we’re both exhausted and just for a few hours, I want to shut out the world and celebrate the fact that the woman I love more than life itself has agreed to become my wife. Can’t we just enjoy it for little while?”

“Okay,” she gave in, “after seeing that face, how could I possibly say no?”

He smiled and reached for her hands, “May I have this nap?”

She laughed at the silliness of his request but allowed him to help her up and lead her to the couch. “It would be my pleasure.”

They cuddled up on the sofa and fell asleep in each other’s arms, thoughts of their troubles chased away by the love found in their true love’s embrace.

* * * * * * * * *

Danny awoke several hours later to the sound of Michelle making lunch. “Good afternoon,” he smiled, climbing off the couch and approaching her.

She smiled and turned back to the stove, “Do you realize you had nothing in this place to eat?” she teased, opening a cupboard that only contained lunch bags and a box of fruit roll-ups.

“I’ve been a little busy lately to worry about grocery shopping,” he defended, placing his arms around her waist from behind and turning her around.

“I’m sorry,” she began to apologize again.

“No,” he stopped her, “no more sadness or apologies from now on. We are together now and that’s all that matters.”

She nodded her head in acceptance of his decree and stirred the rice she was cooking, “that smells delicious,” he whispered, trying to steal a piece of chicken breast sitting on a place next to the stove.

“unh uh,” she teased, pushing his hands away, “That’s for dinner. You can wait five more minutes.”

He stuck his lip out in a pout and then reached for another piece. ‘That’s not working this time, buddy,” she laughed smacking his hand lightly with her wooden spoon.

He backed away and saw three grocery bags on the counter. “You went shopping?” he asked her in surprise.

“Well, there was nothing to eat and two hours on that couch was enough for me. You were still sleeping, so I went out for a few minutes.”

“Why’d you go without me. I would have gone with you,” he told her as he began to put the groceries away.

“I can’t help it you slept so long,” she teased lightly, “it is almost three in the afternoon.”

He looked to the clock to verify it really was that late. “I’m sorry,” he responded sheepishly, “you could have woken me up. I had no idea it was this late.”

“It’s fine,” she told him, her tone suddenly serious “I had some things to think about anyway.”

“I thought we weren’t going to dwell on that today,” he whispered, once again placing his arms around her.

“I’m sorry, I can’t help but think about the fact that Bill expects me to marry him in less than a week and if I don’t, he is going to do everything in his power to take Mikey away from us,” she said, her words causing tears to well up in her tired eyes.

“It’s going to be okay,” he whispered, stroking her hair as she cried into his chest. “Mikey isn’t going anywhere. He belongs with us and that is exactly where he’s going to stay, I promise you.”

* * * * * * * * *

Hours Later

“Michelle’s right, the best way to ensure that Bill doesn’t know what’s going on is for Michelle to pretend that she is still going through with the wedding.”

“I don’t like it,” Danny said, pacing the small room. “It’s too dangerous. I don’t want her going anywhere near him.”

“Danny, I know that you just want to protect me, but I need to do this. We need to buy ourselves a little more time before we confront him so that Ross can gather up enough information to nail him. It’ll only be a couple of days…” Michelle reasoned.

“I don’t care. I don’t trust him and I wouldn’t put it past him to hurt you. If he even suspects what we’re doing than I don’t even want to think about what he might do,” Danny said, turning to look her in the eye. “I know that you love Mikey and that you want to do everything you can to save him, but this isn’t the way.”

“I don’t like it either,” Ross said, coming around the bed to stand in front of his daughter, “but I’m afraid it’s the only way. If he knows that we are on to him, we’ll never get the evidence we need.”

“I don’t give a damn about the evidence, I’m worried about Michelle. Can’t you see how risky this is? We have no idea what she’ll have to do to make sure he believes her,” Danny pleaded, his eyes turning to Michelle’s mother for support as images of Bill’s slimy hands came to the forefront of his mind. “I can’t stand the idea of him touching you.”

“Please Danny, I can take care of myself. You know that I don’t like this either, but I have to do this,” she whispered, taking his hand and imploring him to understand. “I will never be able to live with myself unless I know that I did everything in my power to help Mikey. Besides, I can handle Bill Lewis.”

Realizing that he wasn’t going to win the argument, he turned dark his eyes and looked into hers, “Okay,” he sighed in defeat, “but only under one condition.”

Looking into his eyes she somehow knew exactly what that condition was. “Let’s go.”

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

