What is GLManny and What do we do?

Lately some Manny (Michelle Bauer and Danny Santos) fans seem to have recently discovered my site so I thought it was time to explain what we do here again. The main focus of this blog is Manny, episode guide posts about their story, and background information and analysis. However, after Guiding Light went off the air I felt a need to share non-Manny specific things about Guiding Light so you’ll find posts about that. I also post occasionally about general soap opera related topics, but we always come back to Manny.

Starting the Episode Guide

This blog started out because I wanted a place where I could post a Manny episode guide and link as much of the footage as possible to it so it would all be in one place. Luckily Manny highlight clips were much more organized and complete online than many other Guiding Light couples. If it wasn’t for Soap Central for their help with descriptions to whole episodes and YouTube channels especially Freckles337 and GLdannynmichelle’s channel who had put the most complete Manny highlight clips up and in an easily identifiable and followable format and IIheartbreakerII’s channel who uploaded entire episodes as they aired in Iceland. Without their help I couldn’t do this.

Although my original version was just doing the episode guide, I wanted to watch each episode or series of clips twice before I posted about it and to not overwhelm people who were watching along so I decided to post those twice week. After I post them as blog posts I also copy them over to the pages where you can find the complete episode guide to date with the best possible links to clips that I’ve found. The pages I have divided their lives into sections in the interest of keeping them short and to make it easier to find individual bits you might be looking for. If I find a better link later I update the pages only.

Posting Schedule

I have a schedule that I try to stick to, I don’t always manage it, but this is the goal. Posts go up between 7 PM and 9 PM CT. Monday and Thursday Nights  I post Episode Guide Posts with Manny clips descriptions of the episodes the clips are from, comments, quotes,etc. Then on Friday nights I try to post a definition of a term of soap opera jargon. That leaves Tuesday and Wednesday and Saturday and Sunday. One of each those pairs I try to do a post at least somewhat related to Manny (analysis, description of a character or a place, etc.) and the other one about something related to Guiding Light in general. Some of those are part of a series of posts and others are one off posts. Find descriptions of the categories of many of these posts here:
https://glmanny.wordpress.com/about/about-glmanny

I break this pattern for special themed weeks during the year for the Bauer BBQ, Thanksgiving and Christmas when normal posts are suspended as we look around Springfield during that holiday.

Fanfic

In addition to the informational posts, I also post chapters of Manny fanfic. When I’ve got everything rolling I post a chapter of fanfic first and then an informational post every night. Sadly I don’t always get this done, but that’s the goal.

Part of this fanfic is Manny fanfic I’ve found around the web, much of it recovered using secret librarian search strategies. Much of it has been lost all together, so I’m always looking for fans who might have offline stashes. If you do and are willing to share, please let me know. robansuefarm@hotmail.com.

I’m also looking for brand new fanfic, so if you’re interested in trying your hand at Manny fanfic, I’d be please to publish it here.

Around the Web

In addition to the blog you can find me around the web:

  • Twitter (a very active account both Manny and soap operas in general)
  • Facebook (a fairly small group, but it helps keep you up to date with Manny stuff which as much other stuff as the Twitter feed)
  • Blog Talk Radio (I’ve been sadly inactive on there lately, but home springs eternal that I’ll get back to it)
  • YouTube (also inactive lately mostly because all the garbage Google has forced on YouTube users, I do have a couple more videos close to ready to go so one of these days I may relent and post them, or maybe I’ll just post them on the Facebook page, I’m not sure)

MORE

You want even more details about what we do? Check out our About page:
https://glmanny.wordpress.com/about/about-glmanny

Robansuefarm is the handle of one of Manny and Guiding Light‘s biggest fans following in her family’s footsteps of Guiding Light fandom since 1939. This blog is an effort to make it easy to find Guiding Light and especially Manny online. Check back here for her blog, find fanfic previews and fake WSPR newscasts on her YouTube, find podcasts that look back to old shows and audios of her fanfics on Blog Talk Radio, and finally follow her on Twitter and Facebook.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

