What’s Going on Here?

When I started this blog, I assumed people would start at the beginning and follow along. It doesn’t look like that is actually how people are using the site, so I thought it might be helpful to explain again my plan and what I’m posting.

This blog is specifically about the best soap couple ever, Michelle Bauer and Danny Santos and more generally about the storied soap opera Guiding Light as a whole, with a little general soap opera stuff thrown in.  I am currently posting blog posts that are episode descriptions of the Manny story (complete with quotes and comments) and links to the best version of the Manny scenes I’ve found on YouTube. I’m trying to post them in natural breaks and that usually ends up being 2 or 3 episodes a post and I try to do an episode guide post about twice a week. It’s less when real life intervenes. After I post a description post I copy it, without the comments, in chronological order onto the pages under “Manny Clips-Episode Guide.” I’s broken into sections so that the pages aren’t too long and to help you find specific parts of the story easier. You can follow the story either through the blog posts or on the pages. If I find better quality video links I update it on the pages only. I’ve been slow on episode guide posts lately, but hopefully that will change soon.

In between these episode guide posts, I post other information about Guiding Light, my personal theories about Manny, and Guiding Light history and memories. Among my GL history projects is a list of “Dates in Springfield” and a list of “Couple Codes” aka smoosh names for Springfield couples. As background for the Manny story is a list of supporting characters with descriptions about their history and how they fit into the Manny story. Another part of this project is to create a Gazetteer or places in Springfield. I post the descriptions of the place, hopefully with a link to a video that shows it. Once I post these descriptions, I add them to the “Places of Springfield” page. Every Friday night, I post a definition of a term in soap opera jargon. After I post it, I put it on the “Soap Opera Jargon” page.

As I got further into Manny fandom, I got interested in Manny fanfiction. I’ve put together a “Story Index” where I divided the stories into categories and put a description and link to each one that I’ve found online. I’ve also been writing my own and posting it here. In addition, I’m restoring previously unavailable chapters of Manny fanfics posting 1 chapter a night, in addition to my informational post. I always post the fanfic chapter first, so the informational post should always be on top. Sadly if I’m short on time to get things edited, there will be gaps.

I’ve also collected links to pages that allow you to quickly find Manny Transcripts and Quotes, Manny discussion, Prose Versions of the Manny story, and I’ve put together a page (in a fit of feeling omniscient watching old clips) of Premonitions of Manny (the one from Rick and Ed’s discussion is my favorite).

I’ve started a  section of non-Manny Guiding Light video clip links. Whole pages are devoted to Joie as Teen Reva CloneMick Santos and Messe-Dresse clips. I’ve also put together a directory of major GL events that have been mentioned in my blog on the general GL Clips page.

I’ve started creating a series of WSPR news stories, I sometimes call it WSPR B Roll, these are newly created news stories. Some are from the present and some are from Springfield’s storied past. Please watch and comment.

For a listing of irregular series of posts that turn up from time read this post:
https://glmanny.wordpress.com/2011/10/27/irregular-series

Stop back soon to find out what’s new.

Disclaimer: I have absolutely no official connection to Guiding Light. I don’t own any of these characters. This page is for historical and entertainment purposes only.

Robansuefarm is the handle of one of Manny and Guiding Light‘s biggest fans following in her family’s footsteps of Guiding Light fandom since 1939. This blog is an effort to make it easy to find Guiding Light and especially Manny online. Check back here for her blog, find fanfic previews and fake WSPR newscasts on her YouTube, find podcasts that look back to old shows and audios of her fanfics on Blog Talk Radio, and finally follow her on Twitter and Facebook.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

