Something About You – Part 15 by ShellyLynn

Republisher’s Note: The story continues its happy bent today.

Author’s Note: I hope you continue to enjoy. Don’t worry, this story is far from being over. ;)

Something About You – Part 15 by ShellyLynn

The three of them walked quietly into Danny’s apartment, the slight awkwardness of a few minutes previous suddenly returning. It was the moment of truth and they both knew it. They were finally going to talk about whatever it was that was going on between them and they both had high hopes as to what that would mean.

“Why don’t you go play in your room for a little while?” he asked Mikey as soon as their coats were off. “Then we’ll order pizza in a little while.”

“Pizza?” Mikey asked, excited by the prospect.

“Yep, with extra cheese,” Danny laughed at his reaction.

“Yippee!” the little boy giggled in delight. “I go play now.”

They both began to speak simultaneously as they made their way into the living room.

“I….”

“We…”

“Let’s have a seat,” Danny suggested with a laugh. “Would you like something to drink?”

“Sure,” she answered, following him into the kitchen to grab the sodas.

“That really was a wonderful thing you did earlier,” she said, leaning against the countertop.

“It wasn’t a big deal,” he answered, “I remember when my grandmother used to take me down there to listen to Mrs. Sanders read. I know how important it is to those kids and I didn’t want them to be disappointed. Anyone would have done what I did.”

“No,” she said seriously, “Not everyone would be willing to do that for those kids. You really made an impact on them.”

“I guess I just knew how they felt,” he shrugged, leading her back into the living room where they took their seats on the couch.

“Look,” he said, fidgeting with the hem of his sweater. “I don’t know exactly what is going on between us or how you feel about me, but I like you, a lot,” he began.

“I like you, too,” she interjected.

“I’m glad,” he smiles, taking her hand in his, “but there’s more to it than that for us. I don’t really have anything to offer you. I’m basically a single father, I’m struggling to pay for school and take care of a five-year-old. I barely have time to study much less to have a normal relationship. For this to have a chance, you would have to understand that Mikey is my first priority and that his needs come first before mine or anyone else’s. You would have to accept that some of the time you have with me, you’ll have to share with him.”

“I understand that, Danny,” she smiled, “and I think that’s one of the things I like most about you. I love the way you are with Mikey and the way you take care of him. I admire your strength and selflessness. That little boy in there is precious and I respect you so much for the challenge you have undertook for him. I wouldn’t expect anything less from you,” she explained.

“Why would you want me?” he asked dumbfounded. “I don’t have any money, any prestige. I’m just an average guy trying to make it.”

“But you aren’t, she jumped in, You aren’t average at all.”

He looked at her in confusion, waiting for her to explain and she did. “All my life, my father has expected me to marry someone of his stature, someone in our circle. At first, I didn’t think anything of it. I went to an exclusive, private girls only high school. All the guys I came into contact with were of that nature usually handpicked by my father. I always thought that the kind of marriage my parents had was true love, that is what all marriages are like, until my junior year of high school.”

He looked at her intently as she took a drink of her soda, waiting for her to continue.

“My older brother Rick met this girl named Abigail, a lovely girl from Goshen, a small Amish town a few hours from here. They gave me a new definition of love, what they have is so strong, so powerful. I couldn’t imagine ever feeling that way about another person, but I did know that I wanted to. I hadn’t ever dated before that, other than a few times my father set me up, but I decided to begin a quest to find that kind of love for myself. I must have dated twenty different guys my freshman year here and I couldn’t even fathom feeling anything for any of them. They were all jerks, guys that wanted me for my father’s money and my inheritance. They didn’t care about my hopes or dreams, all they cared about was that I’d look good at parties and that I could bring them money and prestige. There’s only one guy I can even stand, Bill Lewis. Our families do business together, and we became good friends and have managed to stay that way, even after he took over his family’s business and started traveling all the time.”

“Did you ever date him?” Danny asked hesitantly.

“No,” she answered quickly, “I’ve never thought of him that way.”

“So what makes me any better that the other guys?” he asked.

“You actually care about ME,” she replied, pointing toward her chest. “The person inside. You treat me right, you respect me, even when you don’t agree, and you let me be myself. You make me feel good inside. Somehow, being with you just feels right.”

Danny sat there for a moment, contemplating what she had told him. “So,” she said carefully, unsure of his reaction, “What about you? I want to know your feelings on this.”

“I guess I should start with my family. As you know, my parents died a long time ago, when I was still a child, but the one thing that I’ll always remember is how much they loved each other. After they put us to bed at night, they would stay up and laugh and dance. I always grew up wanting that for myself, to find someone who made me feel lucky just to be alive,” he explained.

“I guess I never really got a chance to go after it though. First they passed away, and after Pilar died, I was really angry at the world. I rebelled and did a lot of stupid things and dated a lot of girls that meant nothing to me. When I got my life back under control, I fought and gained custody of Michael, but then I didn’t really have time to date. I tried, but eventually I realized I had to put my dream on hold while I took care of him. His needs come first. Besides,” he laughed slightly, “how many women our age want to date a guy with no money who cancels dates because his nephew has the flu. They aren’t ready to be tied down to a family and they were jealous of the time I spend with him. I guess I just couldn’t make time to make them feel like they mattered to me.”

“It’s not your fault, Danny,” she told him, scooting closer to him on the sofa. “I think what you are doing for Mikey is incredibly admirable. He’s really lucky to have you.”

“No, I’m lucky to have him. He’s the only family I have left. His mother and I were really close until our grandmother died, and then everything went down hill. She sort of shut down and I rarely saw her. I never even met Michael’s father.”

“I’m sorry,” she responded, squeezing his hand in a gesture of comfort.

“It’s okay,” he told her, “I’ve dealt with it and moved on. I need to make some new happy memories, hopefully with you.”

He paused for a second, deciding on the exact words he wanted to speak before looking directly into her eyes and beginning. “Michelle,” he sighed, “I know that if we give this a try, it won’t be easy. There are so many things that will complicate our lives and we’ll have to work harder than most people to be happy, but I want to give it a chance. Over the short time that I’ve known you, I have had these feelings growing inside of me that can no longer be denied. I don’t know exactly what they are, but they’re unlike anything I’ve ever felt before and I don’t want them to stop. I guess what I’m trying to say is, ‘Will you go out on a date with me Michelle Bauer? A real date?'”

“I’d love to,” she laughed, relieved that they finally had things out in the open.

He leaned in, his eyes checking her face for any signs of discomfort or doubt on her part, and upon finding none, he touched his lips to hers in a gentle kiss, their mouths savoring the new feel of being joined together.

As they finally parted, her eyes remained closed and she touched her fingers to her lips. “I think I should be getting home now,” she says, “I have an early class tomorrow.”

“Yeah,” he returned, unable to suppress the smile on his face. “I’ll call you.”

“I’ll be waiting,” she answered, grabbing her coat and walking out the door.

Danny sighed and went to check on Mikey as Michelle made her way back to her apartment.

As soon as she reached her car, she let out a squeal of excitement, the feelings coursing through her so foreign, yet so wonderful. She drove home and made her way inside, climbing into bed and picking up her diary.

April 23, 2001

Today, I experienced the most amazing feeling of my life. I’ve never felt this way before and I don’t know how to describe it, other than to say I think I’m falling in love with Daniel Santos.

Shelly
Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

