Something About You – Part 11 by ShellyLynn

Republisher’s Note: Michelle deals with her elitist roommate.
Author’s Note: I’m trying to muddle my way through the next chapter of Vision, but for some reason it is giving me fits. I’ll try to have it up later this weekend.

Something About You – Part 11 by ShellyLynn

“What the hell were you thinking?” I thunder as soon as I enter my apartment.”Geez,” Stacy says as she stumbles into the living room, holding her head. “What’s your problem?””What’s my problem?” I ask angrily, taking off my coat and throwing it on the couch. “You almost killed an innocent little boy.”

“He’s fine,” she says, waving her hand at me. “The doctor said he’d be back to normal in a day or two.”

“I don’t care. What you did was selfish and irresponsible, and it almost cost Danny big time. I can’t believe you lied about the alcohol,” I say, pacing back and forth. “I am so incredibly angry right now that it is taking every once of my strength to keep from doing something I’m not sure at the moment I would regret.”

“You know how much trouble I’d get in if Id admitted it was mine. My dad would have thrown a fit,” she explains casually, like I’m supposed to understand and realize she had such a good reason for almost destroying someone’s life.

“You’re worried about your daddy’s opinion, when you almost cost Danny custody of the only family he has left. I can’t believe you,” I shout, turning my back to her. “I can’t stand to look at her right now.”

“I can’t believe you’re so upset about this,” she says incredulously. “Do you mean to tell me you actually care about this guy? I mean, come on Chelle. You’ve known the guy all of a couple weeks. I don’t care how gorgeous he is. It’s not like anything serious is going to happen between you two. I thought you just wanted a piece of his fine body and wanted to find out how the less fortunate live. I mean, I couldn’t care less if you’re sleeping with the guy. In fact, I’m sure the sex is great. Maybe if you don’t mind, I could give him a try when you’re done with him,” she laughs.

“Before I even think,” my hand reaches out and smacks her across the face. “I can’t believe you would think that of me. I don’t use people, and I don’t sleep around. Danny is a great guy and I really enjoy spending time with him.”

“You can’t seriously have feelings for him?” she asks, rubbing her red face as she stares at me coldly. I have never seen her like this and I’m praying it’s the alcohol talking. “You’re going to marry Bill. Everyone knows that.”

“What?” I ask stunned. “Marry Bill? Bill Lewis?”

“You know it’s already been set up,” she laughs.

“I don’t care. It’s my choice who I will marry,” I say determinedly.

“And you want to marry this guy?” she asks with a laugh. “I mean, did you see where he lives? Can you say slum?”

“Who cares where he lives? No, it isn’t exactly the penthouse, but it isn’t a slum, and Danny’s a really wonderful guy who has just been saddled with some unfortunate circumstances,” I begin.

“Oh come on. You sound like a social worker. Get real. Do you really think even if you made it that far, that your father would let you marry the guy?” she says.

“My father likes Danny. He is giving him a good job at the company…” I begin before she cuts me off.

“That doesn’t matter,” she stops me. “Being good enough to work for your company and being suitable for your little girl are two very different things. Your parents expect you to marry someone from your social class, not some single-father type who can barely pay his rent. Where would you go on a date? McDonalds?”

“I don’t know. It doesn’t matter,” I tell her. “Besides, not that it bothers you I’m sure, but I think you ruined any chance of something between me and Danny anyway. He was pretty upset about all of this, even after I got him off the hook.”

“Then I did you a favor. You have so much going for you. Even if you won’t marry Bill, there are so many wonderful, rich guys out there that would love to even have a chance with you and you would throw it away on some loser? I know you better than that Michelle,” she says.

“Apparently you don’t. I’m not a snob. I don’t judge people by the amount of money in their bank account. Danny is a really good person and I want to get to know him better. If that bothers you, then I guess you can leave,” I say, turning my back to her as tears run down my face. We have been friends since grade school and helped each other through some pretty rough times, but I can’t live with her if this is how she feels.

“Are you kicking me out?” she asks in shock. “Over some stupid lowlife you barely know?”

“I’m asking you to leave if you really believe it is your right to use people and throw them away like garbage, just because their parents didn’t give them everything like ours did.”

“Fine,” she huffs. “I’ll be out by tomorrow.”

“Fine,” I retort, trying to contain my disappointment. I never thought Stacey could be so cold-hearted. The unfortunate truth is, no matter how much I want to deny it, she is probably right. If my father thought Danny was a threat to his perfectly laid plans for my life, he’d ruin him in a heartbeat.

I look at the clock and decide to go to bed. There isn’t really anything more I can do tonight and I’m praying that the sunrise brings with it some solutions.

* ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ *

“What do you mean its been paid for?” Danny asks in frustration. “I haven’t even been down here yet.”

“I don’t know what to tell you sir, except that the computer says the bill has been paid in full,” the woman behind the counter repeats.

“I don’t,” he sighs in confusion. “Were you here a little while ago?” he asks.

“Yes, but I didn’t take care of this patient’s billing,” she replies.

“Then can you get me the person who did?” he asks, shifting a sleeping Mikey onto his other shoulder. Carrying a sleeping five-year-old around isn’t exactly the easiest thing to do, especially for long periods of time.

She went to get her, but wasn’t sure why he was making such a big deal out of this.

“I need to know who paid for this,” Danny tells the woman as she approaches.

“She didn’t leave her name,” she answers. “She paid in cash and left.”

“Was she a blond, about five 3 and wearing a fancy dress?”

“Yeah, that’s her. Do you know her?”

“I guess you could say that. Thanks for your help,” he says politely, turning and heading out the door to the waiting cab.

“I think I need to have a talk with our Miss Bauer,” he says to himself as he climbs inside and lays his nephew down on the seat. “I think she needs to realize that Danny Santos is not a charity case.”

He watches as Mikey curls himself up into a ball and stirs slightly. Not tonight, he realizes. Tonight, he was going to take care of Mikey and hope that tomorrow brought better tidings.

Shelly

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

