Something About You – Part 4 by ShellyLynn

Republisher’s Note: Michelle might prove to be Danny’s good luck charm as a struggles as a single parent and college student.
Author’s Note: It seems like I’ve been writing all day. :) Well, I’ll try to get another part of Visions of Love up soon, but this one seems to be flowing through my head right now. Thanks for reading.

Something About You – Part 4 by ShellyLynn

“You did what?” Danny asked her in disbelief. “Why would you do that?”
“I know how hard it must be for you to raise Mikey and go to school, especially after losing your scholarship,” she begins. Danny looks at her in frustration, he knows he never told her about the scholarship.”I overheard part of your meeting,” she explained, ducking her head sheepishly “and I wanted to help you out.””I told you before, I don’t want your help. Mikey and I have done just fine on our own and I’m not about to start accepting charity now,” he said angrily as he stood up and began to pace the room.”Damn it, Danny,” she says, her voice rising as well. “It’s not charity. You’re fully qualified to handle this job.”

“What is it?” he asks sarcastically. “McDonalds?”

“No, it’s a marketing position at my father’s company. They’ve been having trouble coming up with ads for children and with your business background and spending so much time with Mikey, I think you’d be perfect for the job,” she explains.

He didn’t even bother asking how she knew of his associate degree in business, instead choosing to stick to the subject at hand. “So, you got your rich daddy to give your poor, lowly acquaintance a job to keep him in school,” he said, his voice dripping with exaggerated sweetness. “Well, no thank you. I’m doing just fine without your help.”

She was afraid of this happening when she came up with the idea, but she couldn’t help herself. She had felt drawn to the little boy and the complicated man before her, so much, that she had to try and do something that might help. Even if it meant taking the chance of causing a rift between them.

“I didn’t get you the job, I just got you an interview. You have to get the job on your own,” she said, hoping that will help ease his anger about her intrusion into his life. “It’s a really good opportunity and not only would you make enough money to pay your tuition, but you would have the chance to meet some influential people that could help you later on,” she finished. “It’s up to you, but I think you owe it to that little boy in there to at least consider it as an option. Here’s my phone number,” she said as she took a small piece of paper out of her purse and writes it down, “Call me in the next couple of days if you’re interested.”

He looked down at the small, flowing handwriting on the paper and then back up at her beautiful, sad face. He knew he’d acted like a jerk, and worse yet, he had no idea why. Was he so stubborn that he would let his pride and trust issues come between him and not only a job he could use, but a woman he wasn’t prepared to let go of?

She turned around and headed for the door with a heavy heart, wishing he would take her help. She reached for the doorknob and was surprised to hear him come up behind her. His hand snaked around pushing the door back closed. “Wait.”

She turned around slowly, trying to hide her happiness that he was asking her to stay. “Are you going to take me up on my offer?” she asked apprehensively.

“I’m going to consider it. That’s really all I can do right now,” he said as she turned around, “but I feel like there are a few things I need to explain to you.”

She nodded her head and followed him back into the living room where they sat down on the couch and turned sideways to face each other. “I guess I should begin with why I have so much trouble accepting help,” he sighed running his hand through his dark curls, badly in need of a hair cut. “I told you the general story of my life,” he said slowly, “but I didn’t really tell you the emotional side of it. Every person I have ever counted on, really trusted, has left me. My parents did it, my Grandmother did it, and then my sister did it. All of them died while I still needed them.”

Michelle reached out to take his hand in hers and he tensed for a minute before relaxing in her comforting presence. “I guess I just don’t feel like I should let anyone help me, or I’ll lose them too.”

“That’s not going to happen, Danny,” she said softly.

“I’ve always had to do everything on my own, take care of myself and now Mikey. I can’t trust anyone else to do it for me,” he said finally, his voice far away. He hadn’t discussed this with anyone before and it was beyond his reasoning why he felt the strength, the need, to discuss it with the petite, gorgeous creature before him.

“Do you think you can trust me?” she asks simply.

“I want to,” he said, turning to face her, “God help me, I want to so bad,” he sighed, “But I barely know you. How can I know that you aren’t just one more person in my life that’s going to hurt me, or Mikey?”

“You don’t,” she said simply, “You just have to have faith in your instincts and get to know me better,” she finished with a smile.

“I guess you’re right,” he replied with a deep breath. Maybe this was what he needed. Maybe he needed someone to be there for him, to help him through all of this. Maybe she was an angel sent down to help him. Hadn’t he just hours ago begged God for some help getting through all of this. He took a good long look at her. Her flowing blonde curls and perfect figure made her incredibly sexy, but her face was so innocent. She certainly looked like an angel, but he realized immediately that the thoughts running through his head as he looked at her were far from angelic.

“Do you want to hang out for a little while longer? Maybe watch some television or something?” he asked her hopefully. He hadn’t felt this good in a long time and he didn’t want to lose it just yet. Maybe she was right, he just had to have faith.

“I can’t,” she said regretfully, “I have an early class tomorrow.”

“Sure,” he sighed. What was he thinking? There was no way a girl like her wanted to hang out with a guy like him. What did he really have to offer except a messed up life, no money, and no free time.

“What are you doing tomorrow afternoon?” she surprised him with the question. He was sure her class was only an excuse, that after she did her good deed for the day, she wanted to get back to dwelling with the rest of he social class.

“Well, my last class is over at three, and then I promised to take Mikey back to the park,” he answered casually. Scheduling your life around college and the needs of a five-year-old wasn’t an easy task.

“Well then, maybe I’ll see you in the park,” she said with a bright smile that Danny couldn’t help but return.

“I hope so,” he said as he walked her to the door and said “goodbye, I certainly hope so.”

He turned and headed for his bedroom, realizing for the first time that he could remember, he had hope and would be going to bed with a smile on his face. That had to count for something, didn’t it?

Shelly

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

