Bauer BBQ Speech 2009

While I might have changed a few things about Bauer BBQ 2009, it was probably the most perfect Guiding Light episode since at least 2003. One of the best things about it was the speech with was mostly written by Michael O’Leary as a tribute to Charita Bauer, who played the true Guiding Light of the series, Bert Bauer. Then it continues with the other Musketeers. While I have done posts previously about this BBQ as a whole, I wanted to share the text of this speech with the Otalia interruptions cut out.

Rick: “It’s time for the speech, who did we get?”

Michelle: “You.

Rick: “What?”

Michelle: “It’s all you now, Big Brother….. Hey, Everybody! Come gather round everybody, grab a drink. I just want to say on behalf of several generations of Bauers, thank you for coming to our annual Fourth of July BBQ and I’m going to hand it over to my big brother, Rick.”

Danny: “Hey Rick, can you handle it?”

Rick: “I don’t know. Michelle tells me I’m one of the grownups now.”

Frank: “Oh great, now we’re in real trouble.”

Rick: “It is scary. I might have some help from some my buddies back here. It is scary I mean I look across all your faces and I realize I AM one of the grown ups because it seems like just yesterday we were little kids sitting on that diving board and eating my grandmother’s chocolate chip cookies.

I just couldn’t help, but think of Grandma Bert today. She was a great lady, real special, and not just because she loved her grandson, but because she came up with THIS, this celebration with family and friends. She used to tell me, Rick, you know we live in a great town, in a great state, and an even greater country. We’re all very blessed to live in a country that upholds freedom and liberty. And she’s right. And I miss her and it has not been the same without her, but she leaves this wonderful legacy behind. I feel very blessed. I feel blessed I have these three buddies back here with me. Thanks Grandma.”

Phillip: “I do know that what makes this nation great is its people and some of the greatest are in this town, in this yard. When I look around at all your faces, I can’t tell you how lucky I feel to been able to spend all this time with you. I wish it could go on forever.”

Beth: “I wish that everybody had a chance to live in a town like this. A town where people, really look after each other. Sometimes it’s just a hello, or a smile, or a pat on the back. Sometimes it’s something more. Sometimes it’s saving each other’s lives or holding each other while we cry.”

Mindy: “And we know that no matter where life takes us, we can always call Springfield our home.”

Phillip: “That’ s right, that’s right because you know what, we’re bound together by those friendships and by that history and no matter where we go or where life takes us we are always…..ALWAYS….going to be part of each other’s lives.”

Rick: “God Bless Springfield and God Bless America.”

…..

Phillip: “I just want to stand here and soak it all in. I just want to pretend that it will never end.”

Robansuefarm is the handle of one of Manny and Guiding Light‘s biggest fans following in her family’s footsteps of Guiding Light fandom since 1939. This blog is an effort to make it easy to find Guiding Light and especially Manny online. Check back here for her blog, find fanfic previews and fake WSPR newscasts on her YouTube, find podcasts that look back to old shows and audios of her fanfics on Blog Talk Radio, and finally follow her on Twitter and Facebook.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Bauer BBQ Speech 2009”

  1. glmanny Says:

    Reblogged this on Glmanny's Blog and commented:

    This exchange is one of the best segments of the Bauer BBQ ever. I decided it was worth sharing again tonight.

Leave a Reply

