Ed and Maureen Valentine Wedding

In honor of Valentine’s Day I want to revisit Valentine Weddings in Springfield. So far I’m aware of three. I asked the giant Twitter brain if anyone could remember more. I’m sure there are some, but I couldn’t confirm any other suggestions. As close as I got was that Harley and Alan-Michael married in Feb. If anybody knows for sure, date and year of other Valentine’s Weddings I’d be glad to add them to the list.

Sadly I haven’t found footage online yet (although I haven’t given up hope) of the Ed and Maureen’s original wedding. I did find their vow renewals and look for that in a separate post soon and the wedding photo above. Ed and Maureen’s wedding was held on February 14, 1983. This is the wedding I refer to at the Manny wedding that Michelle or Rick should have brought up. I’d think being married even to someone you weren’t admitting you had feelings for yet on your parents’s anniversary would be worth mentioning in passing at least .

Today I think most people either remember Ed and Maureen as Michelle’s parents or just remember the bad stuff leading up to Maureen’s horrific death. However, I think it’s important to remember just how happy and playful Ed and Maureen could be. That’s right, Maureen brought out the playfulness in generally dour, self-righteous Ed. A major task, but Maureen was up to it. When Ed and Maureen first met they were both coming back off bad relationships. Maureen had divorced before she returned to Springfield a couple of years before the wedding. Ed’s 1970s romances included Holly and Rita….need we say more? They struggled over the fact that Ed felt he was too old to be a father again, Maureen’s struggle to carry full term, and Maureen for awhile being Ed’s boss or wanting to take a more challenging job at Spaulding, and Ed’s old faithful response to cheat when the relationship hit a strain, but on this Valentine’s Day that is all ahead. Instead we’re looking ahead celebrating with friends and family.

Here’s a bit of early married life between Ed and Maureen talking to Rick. Ed says one of the most romantic things he ever says in the last 30 seconds of the clip so watch at least that much although the quality is bad.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HO1wCB86yYg

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.