Broken Vows Chapter 4

Republisher’s Note: After Michelle lost their baby, Danny and Michelle divorced. Now Michelle has come back to Springfield and they’ll meet again at the Bauer BBQ.

Broken Vows – Chapter 4

Danny hopped into the back seat of Bill and Pilar’s car and leaned forward to give his sister a kiss on the cheek.

“Hey, guys, I asked Dee to come with us, so we need to swing by and pick her up, too,” he said, trying to sound nonchalant.

“Ooooh, Danny’s got a date!” Pilar squealed.

“Stop it,” Danny barked at her.

Bill grinned at Danny in the rearview mirror. “Is it a date?”

“I don’t – well, yeah, I guess it is,” Danny tapped his fingers nervously on his knee.

Dee Ford was a corporate attorney who had worked closely with Danny on the San Corp restructuring; she had long been nursing a crush on Danny. For a long time, Danny had treated her strictly as a friend and professional associate, but lately, due to her persistence, they’d been spending some time together outside of the office; Danny couldn’t help but be flattered by her persistent interest. It didn’t hurt that she was beautiful and smart, too.

“Well, good for you, Danny,” Pilar said. “It’s about time you got back into circulation. We were starting to wonder if you’d decided to be celibate for the rest of your life.”

“Okay, that’s enough,” Danny said. “I’m not going to discuss my sex life, or lack thereof, with my baby sister.”

Bill pulled up in front of Dee’s house and Danny jumped out to go to the door, where she met him.

“Hi,” he said, leaning in to give her a quick kiss on the cheek. “You sure you’re okay with this?”

“What part of going to a 4th of July barbecue with a good-looking guy would I not be okay with?” she teased.

“Well, it is a party thrown by my former brother-in-law, at the house where I used to live with my ex-wife,” Danny said.

As they reached the car, Dee turned to him and put pressed her palm against his chest. “Danny, I know this day is going to be hard for you. I know why you invited me, and I don’t have any unrealistic expectations. I’m your friend, and I just want to help you get through it, okay?”

“Yeah, okay. Thank you.”

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

