Quench Me by Amy – Chapter 34

Republisher’s Note: Danny and Michelle are growing closer by the minute.

Quench Me by Amy – Chapter 34

Danny opens the door to my bedroom so quietly, that I almost don’t hear him. I’m sitting in the floor in front of my dresser, stuffing winter clothes into an open box, as I watch him try to sneak into my room. He smiles at me, and then tries to pick up one of four boxes stacked in the corner of my room.

“What in the world are in these boxes, Michelle?” Danny asks. “Dead bodies?”

“Textbooks and other stuff from school,” I answer, laughing at him.

“I told you there would be plenty of heavy boxes for me to lift,” he jokes.

The last few weeks have been absolutely surreal. Danny and I have spent as much time as possible together, and still it never seems like enough. We fall in love more everyday, and saying goodbye, even for just a few hours, is sheer torture. Rick and Ray have met, on a couple of occasions, and none of us were surprised that the two of them hit it off. The annual July 4th Bauer Barbecue is in a few days, and even though a lot of people, including the Lewises and Reardons, will be out of town, Rick, Danny, Ray and I will celebrate with Phillip and Harley and their kids.

“I’m not moving for another week, Danny,” I say, looking up at him from the floor. “What are you doing… practicing?”

“Trying to impress you with my strength,” he says. “Is it working?”

I walk over to where he’s standing, and run my hands along his arms, starting at his wrists and moving up toward his shoulders. The black tee shirt he’s wearing leaves his arms exposed, and I’m struck again by how wonderful he feels. “I’m very impressed,” I answer. “Very.”

After a ferocious kiss and a gentle squeeze on my bottom, I see a bit of confusion spread across his face. He left the office after lunch today, so that he could help me pack, and he doesn’t know yet that my move has been postponed. “I thought you were moving on Monday. What happened?” he asks.

“Jack and Stephanie were supposed to be moving into their new house this week, but it’s not vacant yet, so they can’t start moving in until Monday, and I’m sure it will take them a few days to get moved in,” I answer. “Mr. Mattingly called and asked if I could put off moving for another week, and I told him that I didn’t mind. We’ll just get finished packing today, and then we won’t have to worry about at all next week.”

“That gives you more time to pack all your shoes,” Danny says with a grin.

Smirking back at him, I retort, “And my dead bodies.”

“Have you signed your lease yet?” he asks.

“Actually, no. I was going to ask you drive me by there this afternoon, on our way back to your house,” I answer. “I told Mr. Mattingly that I’d come by sometime today and sign it, and give him my deposit.”

Danny and I planned a quiet Friday evening at his house, complete with pizza and rented movies. It still amazes me that he gets such a charge out of ordinary things. I completely understand it, though. Every moment we spend together is nothing short of magical.

“That’s no problem,” he answers blandly.

We spend the next two hours cramming boxes full of my things, and stacking them along one wall of my bedroom. With both of us working, it doesn’t take long until my entire bedroom disappears into boxes, except for a few clothes and other things I’ll need this week before I move. My furniture is pretty much all that remains of my room.

“That about does it,” Danny says, looking around at the emptiness of the room. “We better get going if you want to go by the apartment complex.”

“OK,” I reply, yanking my last pair of khaki pants from my dresser drawer. “I’ll be ready in five minutes.”

“Are you going to get dressed in front of me again?” he asks slyly.

“Looks that way,” I say, as I remove my gym shorts, dusty and wrinkled from sitting in the floor all afternoon. “Got a problem with that?”

“Absolutely not,” he says matter-of-factly. “Just hurry up so I can take you home and have you all to myself.”

“I’m going as fast as I can,” I reply, as I zip my pants, and grab one of my remaining shirts from the closet. Quickly, I button up the navy blue sleeveless blouse and grab a pair of navy loafers from the floor. I can feel him watching my every move, and I fight the urge to dispense with getting dressed and pounce on him in my now empty bedroom.

“Ready,” I declare, as I slip my shoes on my feet.

“Let’s go,” he says.

***********************

The closer we get to the apartment building, the quieter Danny becomes. He’s staring off into the distance at some unknown point, and I can’t imagine what has happened in just a few short minutes to change his demeanor so drastically. When he pulls into the complex, he doesn’t park near the office, but rather, on the other side of the parking lot. He says nothing, and I am frightened all at once about what is going on in his head.

“Danny?” I ask softly. “Is something wrong?”

He shakes his head “No”, and continues to stare out the windshield of his car.

I’ve learned not to push him when he’s like this. He’ll talk when he’s ready, so I say to him, “I’ll be right back.”

As I start to open the door of the car, I feel his hand gently touch my shoulder. Turning to face him, I see the tell-tale redness in his eyes as they fill with tears. “What’s wrong, Danny?,” I beg.

“Don’t,” he says. “Don’t sign the lease.”

I have no idea where this is coming from, and I can’t think of a response, other than to look at him questioningly. My eyes are begging him to explain, and he does.

“Don’t sign the lease, Michelle,” he says, grabbing my hands. There’s an urgency in his voice that I’ve never heard before. “Don’t move into the apartment. Come home with me. Marry me, Michelle, tonight, and come home with me.”

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

