Quench Me by Amy – Chapter 18

Republisher’s Note: Danny is out of town on a business trip while Michelle has her med school finals.

Quench Me by Amy – Chapter 18

It’s 5:00 p.m. on Friday afternoon, as I mindlessly turn my key in the front  door of the house.  The Pharmacology final is history, and all I want to do  is sit down on the sofa and think about absolutely nothing.  I know that I  have other finals next week, but Pharmacology was the one that worried me  the most, and now that it’s over, I just want to relax.

I haven’t talked to Danny since late Monday night.  The situation in Atlanta  was far worse than he or Phillip had anticipated.  An outside team of  accountants had been brought in, to conduct an audit of sorts, and Danny was  overseeing the entire process.  He was extremely busy, and he knew that I  was studying non-stop, so he told me that it would probably be Friday before  he called again.  Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday crept by for me, wanting  to talk to him so badly, but knowing that it wasn’t possible.

I settle onto the sofa, curling up with a pillow and an afghan, a gentle  peace filling my heart, as I realize that soon I’ll hear from him.

Rick is at the hospital, so the house is empty, and I doze off into much  deserved rest.  I don’t know how long I’ve been sleeping when I’m awakened  by the ringing of the telephone.  Immediately, I reach for the phone on the  lamp table, answering as quickly as possible.

“Hello,” I answer.

“Hi Michelle.”  It’s him, just like I knew it would be.

“Danny, how are you?”

“I’m good.  How about you?  How was your Pharmacology final?”

“Actually, it wasn’t bad at all,” I reply.

“Good,” he says.  “I’m glad to hear that.  I was thinking about you and that  test today.”

“How are things in Atlanta?” I ask.

“Better.  It’s beginning to come together, but we’ve still got work to do.”

“Do you know when you’re coming home?” I ask.

“Well, it’s not going to be as soon as I thought,” he says, as my heart  sinks.  “I was hoping to be able to fly home tomorrow, but Phillip is flying  down here this weekend to go over things one more time, and then I’ll have  to tie up all the loose ends on Monday and Tuesday.  If everything goes  well, I’ll fly home late Tuesday night, and be back in the office bright and  early on Wednesday morning.”

“Wednesday, huh?” I ask, trying to sound light-hearted.  “That gives me  enough time to finish my finals before seeing you again.”

He laughs slightly and asks, “When are your finals over?”

“Wednesday afternoon,” I answer.  “And then I’m done until August.”

“Well then, I guess I’ll see you sometime on Wednesday,” he says.

“I’d like that,” I answer.

“I’m going to have to get back to work,” he says.  “Hopefully we’ll finish  up in about an hour, and I’ll be able to get back to my hotel room by ten  o’clock.  I could use the sleep.”

“O.K., Danny,” I respond.  “I’ll talk to you Wednesday.  And, Danny… I miss  you.”

“Miss you too, Michelle,” he says, just before I hear his end of the  connection break.

For some reason, I feel very unsettled by Danny’s phone call.  Something in  his voice sounded different.  He didn’t say anything to upset me, but he  seemed somewhat distant, more distracted than usual.  Has something happened  to make him distant?  Or was I just imagining things?

“He’s just busy,” I say to myself.  “And he’s tired.  Things will be fine  when he gets back home.”  It makes sense to my head, but my heart, heavy and  fearful, is not convinced.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

