Quench Me by Amy – Chapter 17

Republisher’s Note: Danny is getting ready to leave on a business trip, calls Michelle.

Quench Me by Amy – Chapter 17

It’s getting late, and my eyes are beginning to sting from staring at my notes all day. Despite the marvelous way my day began, I’ve actually managed to do some quality studying. Danny left the house just before noon, and I know he’s spent the day getting ready for his business trip. I know he’ll be back in a week, but a week has never seemed quite so long before.

Rick and Phillip spent the entire day together, and now Rick is having dinner with Phillip and Harley at their house. Slowly but surely, he’s beginning to come out of the shell he built around himself after Abby left. I think to myself that his idea that I try to move back into my old apartment is not such a bad idea, especially if things keep going so well between Danny and me.

Now that I’ve finally put my textbooks away for the night, a thousand things run through my mind. I replay every moment that has transpired between Danny and me since we met – every glance, every smile, every kiss, every touch. My mind is overflowing with possibilities for the two of us, and I decide that I must stop myself before my imagination completely runs away from me.

I make my way into my bathroom and run hot water in the tub, generously pouring in bubble bath. In a moment, I sink into the hot, fragrant liquid, and I realize then that this was not a good idea if taking my mind off Danny was my priority. Like usual, as soon as I begin to relax the phone rings.  At least I thought to bring the phone with me,  I think to myself, glad that I don’t have to get out of the tub to get it.

“Hello,”  I answer.

“Hi, Michelle,”  Danny says in a low, quiet voice.

“Danny,”  I say. “I didn’t think I’d be hearing from you until you were in Atlanta.”

“Well, I just finished packing, and I thought I’d call and say goodnight.”

He called just to say goodnight. That HAS to be a good sign.

“Are you all ready to go?”  I ask.

“Yeah,”  he replies. “I stopped by the office after I left your house. No one was there, obviously, because it’s Sunday, but I found that packet that Phillip put together for me on his secretary’s desk.”

“What time does your flight leave in the morning?”  I inquire.

“A little after nine,”  he answers.

“Do you want me to drive you to the airport?”  I ask.

“Michelle, how can I answer that?”  he scolds.  “I know you have class first thing in the morning, and you don’t need to be skipping right before your finals.”

“I know,”  I relent. “I’m just going to miss you.”

“I’m going to miss you, too,”  he says, and I’m surprised by his response.

“Really?”  I ask softly.

“Really, Michelle,”  he says. “You can’t think that I’m excited about having to go out of town just when things are really beginning to go well between us.”

“I just didn’t expect you to tell me so,”  I say jokingly.  “Besides, you seemed pretty flattered when Phillip told you that he wanted you to go take care of things in Atlanta.”

“I was flattered. I am flattered,”  he answers.  “But that doesn’t mean I won’t miss you.”

“Well, I hope you have a productive trip, and that you work your fingers to the bone and impress the hell out of all of them, and when you come back, Phillip will give you a big promotion.”

“I don’t know about the promotion, but I’ll certainly work hard, I’m sure,”  he says.

“I know you will, Danny,”  I answer.

“From the looks of the description that Phillip gave me, I’ll probably be really busy. I’ll try to call you tomorrow night, but I’m not sure about after that.”

“I know you’re going to be working,”  I say.  “And I’ll be getting ready for finals.”

He is silent for a moment, and all I hear is his breathing.  “I really will miss you, Michelle.”

“I’ve got half a mind to get out of the tub and drive out to your house and see you right now,”  I say laughingly.

“If you’re in the tub, I’m coming over there,”  he jokes back.

“I guess it wouldn’t be such a good idea for us to be together right now, would it?”  I say.

“Well I’ve got an early morning and a long trip, and you’ve got classes and studying, so we both need sleep tonight. And if I were there or you were here, there probably wouldn’t be much sleeping.

“You’re right,”  I reply. “I definitely wouldn’t be sleeping.”

“I’ll call you tomorrow night,”  he says. “Is anytime too late?”

“No,”  I say. “I’ll be up late studying, and besides, if you wake me up, I won’t be grouchy. I promise.”

“O.K.,”  he says softly.  “Tomorrow night.”

“Tomorrow night,”  I answer quietly, before hanging up the phone.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

