Quench Me by Amy – Chapter 15

Republisher’s Note: Danny came over to keep Michelle company after she finished studying and they fell asleep together on the couch in the Bauer Kitchen.

Quench Me by Amy – Chapter 15

I’m gradually becoming aware of the fact that Danny’s arms are still around me, when I hear Rick flying down the stairs.

“Michelle! Are you already up?” he calls, as I realize that Danny and I have slept all night on the sofa.

Trying to get at myself, I struggle to sit up. Danny moves slightly, not yet awakened by Rick’s yelling.

Just as Rick comes into the living room, I manage to open my eyes. “Rick,” I mutter in a hazy voice, not knowing what else to say to him.

Danny is awake now, and immediately I feel his arm tighten nervously around my waist as he sits up as well.

“Michelle,” Rick says with a stupid grin. “I didn’t realize you had company.”

I hate it when Rick thinks he’s being funny. It’s a side of him I’ve never particularly liked, but at least I can tell that he’s not mad. The last thing I want is for Danny to see Rick’s temper the first time the two of them meet.

“Rick, this is Danny Santos,” I say, meekly introducing them. Danny reaches out and shakes Rick’s hand very tentatively, and I know that he has no idea what to expect.

I continue. “Danny came over to see me last night when I finished studying, and I guess we must’ve fallen asleep on the couch.”

“That’s all it was. I promise,” Danny interjects.

Rick just laughs. “Relax you two. Michelle, you’re an adult, and as much as I’d like to, I can’t keep tabs on you all the time,” he sneers. I’m hating the funny side of him even more with every word he says. I can tell that Danny is incredibly uncomfortable and doesn’t know how to read Rick’s humor.

But, my brother keeps on. “Besides, you’re fully clothed. Danny’s even wearing shoes.”

I think to myself that my brother should just go ahead and kill me now.

“Michelle,” Rick says, as he sits down in a chair across from the sofa. “You really should consider moving back into your apartment. Why don’t you talk to the landlord and see if it’s available.”

“Rick, I told you that I wanted to be here for you,” I answer.

“I know that Michelle, and I appreciate that, but you are a grown woman, and you have your own life, your own friends,” he says, gesturing toward Danny. “And I’m fine. Really, I’m fine. It still hurts, but I’m moving on. Having you here has really been a blessing, but it’s time for you to get on with your life.”

“Living here is not hindering my life,” I counter.

“Come on, Michelle,” Rick says. “Are you going to tell me that this morning isn’t the least bit awkward for the two of you?”

I turn and look at Danny, and we both smile, knowing that “awkward” doesn’t even begin to describe it.

“Just think about it, Michelle,” Rick says, and I nod in affirmation.

Just as Danny is finally beginning to relax, someone knocks loudly on the door. “Come on Rick! You didn’t over sleep again, did you? We have a ten o’clock tee time!” I hear Phillip’s voice saying.

Danny runs his fingers through his hair, obviously very frustrated by the fact that not only did my brother find us here this morning, but now his boss is here as well.

Rick lets Phillip in, and the surprise on his face is evident. Danny is squirming beside me like a kid who just got caught doing something terrible.

Rick breaks the silence with another lame attempt at humor. “Well, I guess everybody knows each other.”

“Phillip,” Danny begins, standing up to shake his boss’s hand. “Michelle and I have been… well, we’ve been seeing each other. And she’s been studying really hard for her finals and she needs a break, so I’m taking her out to breakfast this morning.”

“Nice save,” I think to myself. Now if these two idiots would just get on with their golf game and leave us alone, we could stop feeling like two teenagers who’s parents are checking out their dates.

“How nice of you,” Phillip says, with the same stupid grin that Rick had earlier. “Actually, I’m glad that you’re here. I was going to call you later on today, but since you’re here, it’ll save me a phone call.”

“What is it?” Danny asks.

“I know this is extremely last minute, but there are a few problems at our branch offices in Atlanta. I’d like you to fly down there for a week or so, and help them iron it out. My secretary has your itinerary, as well as an outline of what you’ll need to do when you get there.”

“Wow,” Danny says. “I didn’t expect to get sent out of town on business so soon.”

“I wouldn’t be sending you if I didn’t think you were to best one for the job,” Phillip says.

“When do I leave?”

“Tomorrow morning,” Phillip answers. “Just stop by the office today and pick up the packet from my secretary. It’s got everything you need in it.”

“No problem,” Danny replies.

Finally, Rick and Phillip head to the golf course. I’m still recovering from Rick finding us sleeping on the sofa, and now I must absorb the fact that Danny will be out of town for a week, if not more. The thought of not seeing him for that long feels like a ton of bricks on my chest, preventing me from breathing. All I want is to feel his arms around me again, and forget that he’s leaving in the morning.

“Well, I guess we’re going out to breakfast,” Danny says, as he turns around and kisses me on the forehead.

“Not so fast, Santos” I say with a devilish smile. “Not so fast.”

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

