Quench Me by Amy – Chapter 1

Republisher’s Note: Tonight we start a brand new Manny fanfic. It had been missing about half of its chapters, but thanks to a reader, it now has most of them. A few remain missing, sadly including the last chapter, but now we have most of the chapters, I’m republishing all of the ones I have.

Quench Me By Amy Chapter 1

“I’m never going to find Rick in all this chaos,” I say to myself as I try to navigate my way through the newly remodeled Spaulding Enterprises Offices. I don’t know where anything is, since Phillip changed everything, and the familiar things that I used to look for are no where to be found. I’m supposed to meet Rick in Phillip’s office in ten minutes, so that the three of us can meet Harley for lunch.

Medical school has proven to be pretty much all-consuming, so I grab moments with my brother when I can. It just so happened that one of my classes was canceled this afternoon, and if I ever find Phillip’s office, I’ll be taking advantage of it.

Though the remodeling is in its final stages, nameplates for the office doors are conspicuously absent. Naturally, the one thing that would help me find my way through all this mess, is the one thing that hasn’t been finished yet. Great.

“Phillip’s office used to be at the end of this hall,” I remember, as I make my way to what I believe to be his office.

I peer inside, hoping to see a friendly face. The secretary’s desk is empty, which I don’t find at all odd, since it’s already almost 1:00 p.m. She’s probably on her lunch break. I walk through the outer office and look into the main office. I see nothing hanging on the walls, and no pictures, nothing to indicate whose office this is. However, there’s an open brief case on the desk, black leather, just like Phillip’s. It’s contents are messy and unorganized, just like Phillip’s.

“This must be Phillip’s office,” I surmise. “He and Rick will be here soon.”

I’m standing at the window, staring out across Springfield, when I hear footsteps. Thinking it must be my brother and his best friend, I whirl around to greet them. What I see instead nearly stops my heart.

I don’t know him, but he’s absolutely breath taking – tall and slender, with dark curls that are just slightly unkempt. And his eyes stare at me with a level of intensity I can almost taste. I’m so caught up in his appearance, that I almost don’t hear him talking to me.

“Who are you?” he asks, in a voice that’s clearly annoyed.

Snapped back into reality by his irritated tone of voice, I reply, in my most conventional, apologetic voice, “I’m sorry. I’m looking for my brother.” I don’t realize until the comment leaves my mouth that I’ve stammered over such simple words.

“Well, obviously I ‘ain’t’ him, so just get the hell out of here,” he says, surprising me with the nastiness in his tone.

I turn around to leave the office, totally stunned by what just happened. What right has he got to be so mean to me, when all I did was come into the wrong office? Besides, my brother is best friend is this company’s CEO, and I don’t think Phillip would be very happy about the way this man just talked to me.

Standing in the doorway, I decide that I’m not going to let him have the last word. I march right up to his desk, where he’s looking through a stack of papers as if I’m not there. I’m sure he’s expecting me to be meek and mild, so I decide to give him a taste of his own medicine.

“Excuse me, sir,” I say sweetly. “JUST WHO THE HELL DO YOU THINK YOU ARE?” I bark at him.

He doesn’t even look up from what he’s doing. “Danny Santos,” he answers calmly.

I’m totally taken aback. “Santos?” I mutter questioningly.

With that he looks from his desk and stares at me again with that penetrating stare that stopped my heart earlier. Not surprisingly, he has the same effect on me this time.

“Yeah, Santos,” he says mockingly. “I know… You’ve heard all about me and my family, and I’m a cheater and a liar and a big fat loser, and you don’t even want to be in the same room with me. I’ve heard it all before. It’s always the same song and dance, so just go ahead and get the hell out and leave me alone.”

He’s right. I’ve prejudged him. I heard the name Santos and I made a snap judgment. Part of me feels bad, but another part of me is still angry, because he was rude to me before he even introduced himself.

“I’m leaving all right,” I say. “But it’s not because of your last name. Your last name could be Smith or Jones for all I care, and you’d still be rude and thoughtless.”

I turn around to leave, when Danny surprises me. “You never answered my question,” he says, again staring into a stack of papers. “Who are you?”

Instinctively, I turn to face him, and bend over slightly so that my face is almost level with his. Willing him to look into my eyes again, I say, “I’m Michelle Bauer, Mr. Santos, and I’m definitely leaving now, so you just enjoy the view on the way out.”

He’s stunned, and I can see it in his eyes. “Score one for Michelle,” I think to myself, as I walk slowly out of his office, creating plenty of time for his eyes to wander down my short skirt and bare legs.


Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

