Strange Disruptions in Oakdale IL

It seems that a series of strange events has befallen our fair sister city of Oakdale IL. Strangely enough they are very similar to set of strange events that befell Springfield almost to a day last year.

If I was being too subtle [;-)], this is a WSPR news story that I put together about the cancellation of As the World Turns and Guiding Light. I hope you all enjoy it. I even threw in a mention of Bay City, even though I didn’t watch Another World. Les Moonves, if you don’t know, is the current President of CBS who has had a good day having successfully eradicated all shows not at least partially owned by CBS from their daytime lineup.

UPDATED February 27 2016: I caught a typo and added my signature block.

Robansuefarm is the handle of one of Manny and Guiding Light‘s biggest fans following in her family’s footsteps of Guiding Light fandom since 1939. This blog is an effort to make it easy to find Guiding Light and especially Manny online. Check back here for her blog, find fanfic previews and fake WSPR newscasts on her YouTube, find podcasts that look back to old shows and audios of her fanfics on Blog Talk Radio, and finally follow her on Twitter and Facebook.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Strange Disruptions in Oakdale IL”

  1. Brian Says:

    Though I was never a viewer of ATWT, I still found the demise of the soap a sad event–I did watch the final episode yesterday just to see how it was handled. I was a more fairly recent fan of Guiding Light, I guess for about the last 10 years and I was greatly dismayed at her cancellation; such an iconic show. I am however a fan since day one, of One Life To Live and shudder with fear everytime the ‘cancellation’ rumor surfaces.
    I mentioned the end of ATWT on my blog yesterday and added a mocking commendation to the viewing public, (specifically ATWT fans, and other television shows’ fans, generally) that now they got what they wanted, junk television and the deminse of an American icon- the soap opera.
    I have to admit, as a life-long fan of OLTL, I haven’t always agreed with certain storylines, and found some completely ludicrous, but I never strayed. I’m a fan, through and through.
    But people’s attention spans, nor allegience (if you will) is so short in these days of instant gratification, they no longer desire the anticipation of anything from getting the news or listening to music and certainly not watching intricately woven storylines play out. And that’s sad, because before you know it, we’ll have nothing but Jersey Shore-like disposable idiocy on every channel.

  2. glmanny Says:

    Reblogged this on Glmanny's Blog and commented:

    Remembering something strange that happened in Oakdale.

Leave a Reply

