Community

The bad news is that I didn’t win the essay contest to go on the So Long Springfield at Sea. That means you, my loyal readers, will be deprived of daily reports and photos of the cast, planned events, and a visit to the world famous Titanic exhibit at the museum in Halifax. SIGH. I had my passport all ready. However, the good news is that it also means you get to enjoy my entry for the essay contest now. As a special bonus my soap watching buddy cousin (who I’ve mentioned several times on these screens before) is going to be a guest columnist with her entry tomorrow. The set up was to describe your favorite Guiding Light storyline in 200 words or less. I hope you enjoy it because it’s darn good if I do say so myself. 😉 I hope there is enough response that they do another cruise sometime or at least an addition So Long Springfield somewhere in the Midwest because I would have dearly loved to go, but having previously committed to one expensive trip this summer, I can’t do both.  If you find yourself in a similar situation be sure to let the organizers know that it wasn’t a lack of interest, but bad timing that prevented you coming this time.

Robansuefarm

Guiding Light itself is my favorite storyline because it wasn’t just a television show, it was a real community. I didn’t comprehend how much GL meant to me until it was gone. Never once in those 72 years did the characters stop making and acknowledging connections with each other and with us. They made us believe it was a real place. I grew up with Rick and Phillip. I fell in love with Danny and Michelle. I made my own Bauer Burgers and waited every year for the Bauer BBQ, enjoying each tradition from the raising of the flag, to the three-legged race, to the egg toss, to the fireworks. I worshiped at the church on Christmas Eve and waited for Mike Bauer to sing the carol and for Santa Nick to deliver his annual Christmas miracle.

GL was always something I could share with my family. Now I share  it with a new community, a group of fellow fans that I’ve met online to watch and discuss the show. We’ve created our own friendships and connections thanks to the community of GL. We’ve followed Rev. Ruthledge’s Friendship Lamp and hope that it will always call us home .

UPDATED April 22 2017: I didn’t have to update anything in the post, but I did add my current signature block.

Robansuefarm is the handle of one of Manny and Guiding Light‘s biggest fans following in her family’s footsteps of Guiding Light fandom since 1939. This blog is an effort to make it easy to find Guiding Light and especially Manny online. Check back here for her blog, find fanfic previews and fake WSPR newscasts on her YouTube, find podcasts that look back to old shows and audios of her fanfics on Blog Talk Radio, and finally follow her on Twitter and Facebook.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Community”

  1. Bella Says:

    well said, my lack of being able to go is also not lack of interest, just can’t afford to do it all. go to this site to leave feedback: http://www.celebrityeventsgroup.com

  2. soapfanccb Says:

    Great, great essay!! sorry you didn’t win, I didn’t even know there was a contest!! wish i knew, i would have at least tried!

  3. glmanny Says:

    Reblogged this on Glmanny's Blog and commented:

    Revisiting my essay for the So Long Springfield cruise essay contest.

Leave a Reply

