Ben and Blake Tape

Wait Until Dark – This time through (watching along on Heartbreaker’s channel) I wondered about the video that the Blake and Ben tape got mixed up with. They do give the name Wait Until Dark.

If you don’t remember in happened in 1998 just before the Manny story started. Blake had been feeling an attraction towards Ross’ half-brother Ben Warren. As part of a complicated set up Ben had gotten a video of Blake and Ben together in bed. (Frankly I thought the tape didn’t show all that much – they were both fully dressed, but I seem to be in the minority there.) In one part of the story the tape got mixed up and it was returned to a video store in the video store case for Wait Until Dark.

Block

Elizabeth Keifer Photo Shoot

Turns out this 1967 film starred Audrey Hepburn as a blind woman who had been given a doll full of drugs to hold. Audrey’s character is blind and two men take on the roles of other people to try to convince her to give them the doll, but she doesn’t know where her husband put it. When lying doesn’t work they escalate to threats and violence.

A woman trapped in a house with something dangerous, a web of lies, and no help in sight. Sounds a little like Blake’s situation. I wonder if that’s why they picked it. I haven’t seen the movie yet, but now I think I might have to.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0062467

Take a look at the trailer.

UPDATED January 28 2017: I added my signature block, the photos, turned the video into embedded, and fixed a typo.

Robansuefarm is the handle of one of Manny and Guiding Light‘s biggest fans following in her family’s footsteps of Guiding Light fandom since 1939. This blog is an effort to make it easy to find Guiding Light and especially Manny online. Check back here for her blog, find fanfic previews and fake WSPR newscasts on her YouTube, find podcasts that look back to old shows and audios of her fanfics on Blog Talk Radio, and finally follow her on Twitter and Facebook.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Ben and Blake Tape”

  1. Cat Says:

    Oh my gosh, I didn’t even pick up on that!!! What is strange is that when I rented Rebecca I actually had checked out that Audrey Hepburn film too and never got to it…and never gave the title a second thought. Weird coincidence….or GL is seeping into my subconscious! I think it’s quite possible there was some thought put into the film title. I’d certainly love to think that someone cared about it enough to put that kind of thought into the details, much like the little “eggs” people hunt for in LOST! Now I’ll have to pick up Wait Until Dark and watch it too!

  2. glmanny Says:

    Reblogged this on Glmanny's Blog and commented:

    Did you ever wonder about what the tape was that got switched with Ben and Blake’s tape.

Leave a Reply

